Skip to content

New Years Eliesenlebkuchen & a gift of Pottery

 (1)

Little slow of the mark with this one, lebkuchen would normally be baked pre Christmas and I would certainly have eaten my first one at the beginning of December the minute they arrived in the Frankfurt shops. I make a batch every year but have been a little busy baking Christmas cakes, trays of gingerbread, festive biscotti and panforte for the shop but no lebkuchen! In fact I had not even missed or thought about it until I read London Eats post about Eliesenlebkuchen. Christmas may have been and gone but I wasn’t going to wait a whole year to have lebkuchen, I blame you London Eats! A batch for a New Year celebration, perfect idea, the problem is we have almost finished them and I doubt they will make it into the New Year.

I had forgotten how truly special these biscuits are, the scent wafted through the house and I couldn’t even contain myself to wait for them to cool. Stuffing one in my mouth hot from the oven. Good? Yes, but much better if you wait for them to cool and glaze or dip them in chocolate. I haven’t written the recipe but offer you a link here, I did make a few changes due to available ingredients and how I remember them (see below).

Some of you may know that I am a bit of a vintage diva, owning a lot of 60s & 70s outfits. Well it doesn’t stop at clothes, I picked up the set of New Zealand Temuka pottery you see in the photo Christmas Eve at the Op Shop (Charity Shop) and wrapped them up and put them under the tree. A gift to me from me! The cups are the perfect flat white coffee size, just the right thing when you gift your hubby a coffee machine for Christmas ;o) The pot we can use for tea.

If you scroll below you will also see my latest vintage find that needs a little TLC , I’ll post pics of the chairs once pretty and complete.

Enjoy your New Year celebrations…. see you in 2014! xx

My changes to the Lebkuchen recipe

1. I had no bakers ammonia (hard to come by here) so I just skipped it. I was going to add a bit of baking soda instead but completely forgot and the results were still amazing. So don’t worry if you can’t get any.

2. I had lebkuchen spices which are better than mixed spice as they contain more spices (ground cinnamon, ground cloves, ground allspice, ground nutmeg, ground coriander, ground cardamom, ground ginger, ground anise seed, ground star anise). Maybe make your own or add a few extra spices to the mixed spice. Here’s a link .

3. I also used ground hazelnut only which is how I remember having them.

4. I pipped mine onto bakers rice paper and glazed one side.

photo (13)

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. How lovely! Reminds me of how my family and I always have tea and biscuits around 3pm on Sundays (and I always break at work during the week for it too). There’s nothing like good Christmas baking, a good hot cup of something, and a little atmosphere.

    December 30, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      I’m totally with you on that :o)

      December 30, 2013
  2. Lovely photo Alli – I’ve never tried these biscuits but did see them (and all the gorgeous others) on London Eats. Love a spicy biscuit, especially with a chocolate coating. I’m like you – did some Christmas baking but just managing to blog about it now. Hope you manage a wee break and catch up in New Year. Happy Hogmanay!

    December 30, 2013
  3. This is my kind of post! I love lebkuchen (our 93 year old German Grandmother makes it for us every year!) And your pottery is to die for! I have a soft spot for pottery and I am in awe! Good for you buying it and wrapping it for yourself. It’s gorgeous! I would never hid it away in a cupboard anywhere…it deserves center stage on a shelf somewhere, right?!

    December 30, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Lucky you having your Gran make it every year, what a great tradition. The pottery is certainly getting its use, has become the favourite for a coffee break or a big pot of tea. Thanks for stopping by.

      January 2, 2014
  4. Lovely Lebkuchen and pottery!

    Best wishes for 2014.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    December 30, 2013
  5. Allison, It has been a while since I saw one of your posts in my feed and happy to see you back with a lovely recipe! I haven’t tried Lebkuchen but I think that’s one for the new year :)

    Anyway looking forward to seeing more of your posts in 2014!! Wish you a brilliant year :)

    December 31, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Asha, it has been a while. Going self employed and opening the shop took a lot of focus over the past 6 months but I have enjoyed every minute of it. I’ll try and get online more this year :0)

      January 2, 2014
  6. You must have had a fantastic party – breaking all those kitchen chairs!! Happy New Year to you, give my love to the surf! and NZ and a little sunburn.. c

    January 1, 2014
    • peasepudding #

      Tee hee, a wild party indeed, actually we didn’t even see the New Year in this time, was in bed early :0) all that renovating! Unfortunately the good surf has been absent this holiday break but fun for a swim….well a crash about in the waves ;0)

      January 2, 2014
  7. i really love the rustic and vintage look of the pot and cup. This is such a nice picture capturing. Happy New year 2014!

    January 1, 2014
  8. Hi Allison – they look great! So glad you made them, and massively glad that they worked out.

    January 2, 2014
  9. The Lebkuchen recipe looks amazing,I may try this out some time…love the pottery as well :)

    January 3, 2014
  10. Each year I tell myself I’m going to make these and I still haven’t done it. Your spice mix sounds good and your photo is fantastic. Bookmarking this as I like the sound of using ground hazelnuts.

    Happy New Year

    January 7, 2014
  11. Reblogged this on angelica robles.

    January 13, 2014
  12. Hi Allison,

    Elisenlebkuchen, that is really tempting. I haven’t made any for Christmas either, maybe I’ll follow your example and make them now. Rice paper is a good trick with this sticky dough, I always scoop them onto Oblaten (rice paper), too and glaze one side only, yummy.

    Maybe you could get the baker’s ammonia in a pharmacy? When we lived abroad I have found it either as ‘salt of harthorn’ or german Hirschornsalz in pharmacies where they sell small amounts of ‘ammonium carbonate’ for baking.

    Greetings from Germany, Nicole

    January 24, 2014
  13. I’m with you on the pice mix, preferring to use Speculaas spice for those tasty bites as well. I’ve never made Elisenlebkuchen, but after seeing these, I’m thinking I just might! And gorgeous pottery, I love the op shop – and the excitement of finding those kitchenware gems and other bits of Kiwiana.
    Best to you and yours for all the new adventures, 2014 and beyond!

    January 26, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,369 other followers

