Skip to content

Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

pict0010We were celebrating Chinese New Year this weekend with family and I volunteered to make the dessert. Having no idea what one would make for a Chinese dessert I stuck with something safe like chocolate… well doesn’t everyone love chocolate?

The rest of the meal was traditional and outstanding and I pinched a few ideas which I hope to make at some point.

But back to the chocolate! I prefer baked cheesecakes to the ‘set’ cheese cakes and this is the first time I have made one with 70% chocolate. The 70% cocoa chocolate produces a rich chocolate flavour without the cheesecake being too sweet and the addition of raspberries offers a good contrast in flavour. You could use blackberries of cherries if you prefer.

Ingredients

  • 150g plain biscuits
  • 60g butter, melted
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa
  • 250g dark chocolate (70%), chopped
  • 25g butter
  • 250g cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup castor sugar
  • 250 sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 200g fresh raspberries

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees centigrade.
  2. Crush or process biscuits in a food processor to fine crumbs.
  3. Add cocoa and melted butter (60g) to biscuit crumbs and mix.
  4. Press mixture into the base of a 9 inch spring form cake tin ( I used my mini cake moulds).
  5. Place a layer of raspberries on top of the biscuit mix and save a few raspberries for decoration.
  6. Place sugar and cream cheese in a bowl and whisk till smooth (I use an electrical which is much easier).
  7. Once smooth add sour cream and eggs and whisk till light and creamy.
  8. Melt chocolate in microwave in 30 second burst and stir in between each burst.
  9. Add the 25g butter to the melted chocolate and mix well.
  10. Add chocolate to the cream cheese mixture whilst whisking the mixture at the same time to keep the chocolate smooth and prevent it from setting.
  11. Quickly pour the mixture onto prepared biscuits and raspberry base.
  12. Bake for 1 hour. Mixture should be set in the middle but still a little wobbly.
  13. Allow to cool completely before removing from the cake tin.
12 Comments Post a comment
  1. kaori Davies #

    The Chocolate Raspberry cheesecake was simply delicious and the peppermint liquour goes well with it! The presentation is like Fine Art! Thanks for your great input and dessert creation~~~Gorgeous dessert & i think everyone should give a go and make this~ i certainly would try to make this!
    Thank you Alli.

    January 26, 2009
  2. A lovely recipe and a beautiful presentation!!! Good work!

    February 26, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Thank you. The cooking I find easy but photography is a new hobby for me, I am starting to get the hang of it after many under or over exposed shots!

      February 26, 2009
  3. i’m quite lazy when it comes to cheesecake and tend to veer towards ‘set’ ones but i must say, taste and visual appeal wise, the baked ones always win hands down. this is beautiful and i’m drooling all over the laptop now. x

    March 1, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks for your kind words! I love the baked cheese cake and they are just as easy as set but with the addition of the cooking time.

      March 2, 2009
  4. Such beautiful photos! I am also in the learning stage of digital SLR photography, and I’m finding I have a lot to learn.

    March 1, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Hi, Thanks for the compliment. I haven’t yet progressed to an SLR but had a try of one this weekend and there certainly is a lot of widgets and buttons on them! I did invest in a light box though which has made a big difference for little money. I’ll let you know how I go with the SLR!

      March 2, 2009
  5. Very pretty! I like how you made minis.
    ~ingrid

    March 1, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Ingrid, I looked everywhere to find these mini tins in NZ but in the end had to import them from AU and they originally come from the UK! The things we do for baking ;o)
      I originally bought them to experiment for my wedding cake (in June) but I’m having second thoughts about decorating 40 mini cakes, maybe I could break tradition and make mini cheese cakes?

      March 2, 2009
  6. What a delicious looking dessert!

    March 2, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Many thanks, it was fun to make and even more fun to eat!

      March 2, 2009

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Food, Glorious Food » Blog Archive » Chocolate rasberry cheesecake

Leave a Reply

