Skip to content

Easter Cup Cakes

cupcake3I very rarely make cup cakes but we have decided that instead of a wedding cake in July we are going to have a tower of cupcakes, which of course I want to make myself.  A few practice runs before the day would be a good idea and making some frivolous Easter cupcakes seemed like a good excuse. I always thought cupcakes were the easiest things to make but being out of practice I didn’t get the right amount of mixture in the cases. The first batch had too little sponge mix in the cases and didn’t peek over the top once baked and the second batch I was far too generous and the sponge escaped over the side! I tried to blame this on the new silicone cases I had purchased for not distributed the heat properly but I think the cook is really to blame and I will have to experiment a bit further over the next few months otherwise it could all get a bit stressful at the last minute!

Ingredients

  • 125g butter
  • 125g sugar
  • 125g SR flour
  • 2 eggs

Method

  1. Place 8-10 cup cake cases into a muffin tray, this help hold the shape of the cup cake.
  2. Place butter & sugar in a bowl and beat with an electric whisk or good old fashioned wooded spoon until light and fluffy.
  3. Add one egg at a time and whisk in between both additions.
  4. Sift flour into mixture and fold gently through with a metal spoon so not to loose all the air that has been beaten in.
  5. Spoon mixture into cases, generally it is advise to fill them three quarters full but I am certainly not the expert!
  6. Bake in oven for 25- 30 minutes or until an inserted knife comes out of the sponge clean.
  7. Allow to cool before removing from tin.
  8. Mine I have topped with butter icing (butter & icing sugar) and fondant decorations.
16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Salome Watton #

    You can’t possibly want to eat them! They’re gorgeous!!!!!

    April 5, 2009
  2. One thing you can do for your wedding cupcakes is to buy a large ice-cream scoop or disher – you’ll get perfectly even and rounded portions every time (easier cleanup too!). Good luck, they look so pretty!

    April 5, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Great tip and I will definitely try this to get the perfect consistent cup cake! I’ll keep you posted, thanks.

      April 6, 2009
  3. Too darn cute- love the variety of toppers.

    I think I have those same silicon cupcake/muffin cups. Do you find that they make the edges of whatever you bake dry out a little bit?

    April 7, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      The tops at the edges were a bit dry but the insides were still very moist. Silicone is practical but not my favourite, it doesn’t seem to transfer the heat as well as regular cake tins, maybe that is whey people use it quite a lot for macarons? Thanks for the compliment on the cakes :o)

      April 8, 2009
  4. Adorable and I’m sure very tasty! they remind me of being a kid!🙂

    April 7, 2009
  5. they look lovely and the recipe looks super easy! Thanks for sharing it🙂

    April 7, 2009
  6. So pretty! What sort of motif are you thinking for your wedding cupcakes? I’m eager to see!

    April 7, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      I was thinking about an arrangement of flowers on each, I have the laced cup cake wrappers in white to go round them and will make a chocolate orange cakes. Although I have toyed with the idea of flip flops and shells since we live at the beach! have you see anything original you would recommend? By the way those wale cup cakes are adorable

      April 8, 2009
  7. Lala #

    Hi,

    25g Self Raising flour ????????????? Confirm????

    April 8, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Well spotted and thanks, it should be 125g. I have updated it on the site. I hope there have been no disaster cupcakes out there in the mean time! Sorry

      April 8, 2009
  8. shy #

    HI I’m facing the same problem you are. I’m baking cupcakes for my friends wedding and on a shoe string budget too. I think i’m in way over my head. But your recipe seems to have brought me a little inspiration Thanks!

    April 8, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Here is a Blog with great ideas about decorating cups cakes. if you can get some flower cutters and use fondant icing then the flowers cakes would be really easy to make. You can also make the flowers in advance, let them dry and put them on the cake days later. Good luck and let me know if you want more tips. http://www.cupcakedlights.blogspot.com/

      April 8, 2009
  9. mmm, those look very good! they are beautiful.

    March 26, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tiny Talk » Blog Archive » Inspiration Board: Easter Party | Tiny Prints Blog: Birth Announcements, Invitations & Stationery
  2. Nat's Corner » Blog Archive » Cute Easter Cupcakes :)

Leave a Reply

