Skip to content

Feijoa Frangipane Tart

feijoatart

My fridge is still full of feijoas which I brought home last weekend from a friends garden even after eating 8 a day! My vitamin c levels are so high at the moment that no virus would dare to come near me. I will be away in Sydney for work next week so I thought I better get baking since P is not very partial feijoas and they would not survive another week and I hate to throw anything away.

For those who are not familiar with this fruit, feijoa taste a little bit like a guava or some say a cross between a guava and a pineapple. 

Ingredients

  • 225g sweet short crust pastry
  • 125 butter
  • 125g castor sugar
  • 125g ground almonds
  • 1 tbsp plain flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 6-8 feijoas or 12 if you wish to add fresh slices after baking

Method

  1. Prepare 6 individual loose bottom tart tins or one large tin by greasing them and then dusting them with flour.
  2. Pre heat oven to 170°C
  3. On a floured surface roll out pastry thinly to fit tart tin
  4. Make the frangipane filling by creaming the butter & sugar together until light and fluffy.
  5. Gradually beat in the eggs one at a time.
  6. Fold in the ground almonds and spread the frangipane mixture over the tart base.
  7. Peel and slice the feijoas and arrange over the frangipane mixture.
  8. Sprinkle some castor sugar over the feijoas.
  9. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the frangipane is golden and risen slightly and is like sponge to touch. Smaller tarts will only require 25-35 minutes.
  10. Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. hello there
    thank you for stopping by… you have an amazing blog, full of yummy ideas and all delicious…
    I am interested in this tart, since I live in Northern Ontario, Its hard for me to get the fresh Guava, can I use a can???
    do you think the flavours will be okay

    April 29, 2009
  2. Wow, again! Not only do those tarts look perfectly gorgeous and delicious, but your photography is amazing!

    April 29, 2009
  3. I love feijão too. First time I tasted it was in the form of pastéis de feijão. I learnt about it from my Portuguese housekeeper.Feijão is one of those versatile legumes that can be savory and sweet…. yummmmmmy!

    You have a delicious blog and I’m bookmarking your site for future visit and to gawk at your fabulous photos!

    Thank you for sharing

    April 30, 2009

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. When Autumn gives you Feijoas make Feijoa Gin Ice Lollies! « Pease Pudding
  2. Seasonal Recipes (Autumn) ~ Feijoas | Mama's Style

Leave a Reply

