Skip to content

Chocolate Charlotte for Charlotte

DSC_0037-2It has been interesting baking in another kitchen not having access to all your own gadgets and utensils. Making this chocolate Charlotte for my niece Charlotte, I had to make do with using my mothers old fashioned hand whisk instead of my electric Kenwood. It was a very socialble experience though since it took more time to whisk the eggs than normal so we passed the bowl around as each person got tired meaning everyone could take a turn in whisking the mixture!

All my siblings are chocoholics like myself and it also seems to have passed on to my brothers children also, each one of which takes it in turns to have dinner at their Grandparents one night a week, where we are staying. Charlotte was coming for dinner (or tea as we say in Liverpool) so I thought I would make her a Charlotte dessert for a surprise. I have to confess I didn’t make the chocolate swiss sponge rolls but bought them from Tesco’s (my favourite supermarket which I can spend hours in when I come home) for speed since we have been spending most of the days visiting places, friends and family. If you can’t get sponge rolls you can always use chocolate fingers or just wrap chocolate sponge around the mould. Traditionally a Charlotte would be made in a pudding bowl if you want to make one family size dessert. I use straight sided coffee cups to make my individual portions.

Ingredients

  • chocolate sponge rolls ( I used 4 mini rolls to make 8 desserts)
  • 150g dark chocolate (70%)
  • 5 eggs separated
  • 25g softened butter
  • 65g castor sugar

Method for Mousse

  1. Before making the mousse you need to line the mould you are using with the sponge.
  2. Slice sponge rolls 1/2 inch thick and place around mould so that the tin is completely covered and no mousse will leak through once poured into the mould.
  3. Now prepare the mousse by whisking the egg whites until fluffy.
  4. Add one spoon of sugar at a time to egg whites and whisk each time to form a stiff meringue consistency.
  5. Beat meringue mix until it is thick and elastic.
  6. Add egg yolks to meringue and mix.
  7. Melt the chocolate gradually in the microwave or over a double boiler (chocolate in a bowl over a pan of simmering water).
  8. Beat softened (not melted) butter into the melted chocolate.
  9. Fold gently half of the meringue mixture into the chocolate with a metal spoon or spatular.
  10. Fold in the remaining meringue into the chocolate mix.
  11. Pour the mousse on top of the sponge in the tin and cover with greaseproof paper.
  12. Leave cake to set in fridge for a few hours.
  13. To serve, place a plate over the base and flip over so that the cake falls onto the plate.
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. kaori #

    We are so impressed with your energy & effort -continue making amazing recipes (desserts) to keep your fans (us) busy reading while your holiday! Hope things are going well& love this creation! I think i can make this for my hubby this weekend, since we haven’t have decent desserts for a long long time.
    Keep surprising us Alli with your wonderful ideas and gorgeous mouth-watering desserts. Enjoy your British warm summer!

    June 23, 2009
  2. Ruth #

    Alli, your blog is fantastic I just love all of your cakes. I will defo be tying some of these over the coming months….my kids and hubby will love them (if they get a chance to eat any cos i think i may get there first!). Looking forward to photographing your wedding, i am keeping my fingers crossed for sunshine. See you soon. Rx

    June 26, 2009
  3. Adapting to someone else’s kitchen is indeed a challenge, but it looks like you’re doing a marvelous job churning out yummy treats!
    Very sweet of you to satisfy the little one’s sweet tooth! These look lovely!

    June 27, 2009
  4. oneordinaryday #

    Your recipe turned out just lovely.

    July 25, 2009
  5. I adore your blog and this recipe just adds to its greatness! So unique and amazing!!

    July 26, 2009

Leave a Reply

