Skip to content

Gorgonzola Cheese & Pear Tart

gorgandpear

Surprise! I have decided to make something savoury, well there is fruit hidden in there too and it is classed as baking! Anyone would think I lived on desserts alone…almost!

I am fortunate to travel back and forth to Sydney frequently with my job and my first stop (after work of course) is the supermarkets, grocery stores, butcher and fishmonger to see what produce they have that I can’t buy in NZ. I have bought many kitchen gadgets back with me but I think it is the fresh produce that I bring through immigration that receives some funny looks. Although we have beautiful fresh produce in NZ we don’t have access to as many European products and what we do get usually costs 4 time the price. Being European I always crave the French and Italian cheese and this is what I always bring back from my trips to Sydney. Most people buy duty free but I buy food produce! This trip I brought back gorgonzola cheese, which since it is vacuum packed and from Italy NZ quarantine will allow it into the country, they are pretty strict with their rules but for good reasons. It’s hard to believe that the identical brand and quantity in Australia can cost $5 when in NZ it costs $19, so perhaps you can understand my reason! I would never dream of making a tart with a 150g of cheese that cost $19! particularly one I was experimenting with.

So here is the recipe for my little luxury made from Italian made cheese, bought in Australia and imported by hand to New Zealand!

Ingredients

  • 350g short pastry
  • 150g gorgonzola cheese
  • 2 pears, slice and cored
  • 4 eggs
  • 400ml milk
  • salt & pepper

Method

  1. Flour an 26cm loose bottom tart tin and place onto a baking tray for stability when putting into the oven.
  2. Heat oven to 160 degrees centigrade.
  3. Roll out short crust pasty to fit bottom and sides of tart tin and place in tin.
  4. Whisk together eggs and milk and season with salt & pepper.
  5. Slice gorgonzola cheese
  6. Layer base of tart with pears and slices of cheese, fanning them around the base to form a nice circle pattern.
  7. Gently pour the egg & milk mixture over the pears and cheese.
  8. Bake for 35-45 minutes or until the mixture puffs up like a souffle (it will shrink down again when cooled) and is golden brown. Test the texture with you fingers to see that the egg is set before removing from the oven.
  9. Serve warm with salad.
6 Comments Post a comment
  1. It looks wonderful!

    September 15, 2009
  2. GORGEOUS!!!!!!

    September 16, 2009
  3. I am so glad I have found your site. I love your recipes and the photography inspires me to try harder!!!!

    September 16, 2009
  4. oh, this is perfect, I make one tart very similar to yours, and I must say people love it.

    September 16, 2009
  5. what a gorgeous site!! so glad i’ve found you!! just breathtaking, really.

    September 20, 2009

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The pre-Thanksgiving-dinner dinner « My blank page

Leave a Reply

