Skip to content

Baked Islay Whisky Rhubarb with Custard

I love rhubarb and custard, there is something distinctly English about it for me and its such traditional dish that has been served for centuries. When we were kids we always had stewed fruit like gooseberries and rhubarb but I prefer to bake the rhubarb which helps it retain its beautiful colour and elegant shape. This dessert always makes me think of a programme we used to watch as a child called Roobarb & Custard, I can’t for the life of me remember what it was about but I can recall  the theme tune even today. I decided while writing my post to see if I could find anything about the programme and this is what I found. Does anyone else remember the programme?

Anyway, this is not a children’s recipe since I have added the Islay whisky that P is so fond of! Bowmore was one of the distilleries we visited when on the island a few years ago and since we still have some left after so many years it deserves a home in one of my desserts.

Ingredients – Baked Rhubarb

  • 500g Rhubarb
  • 100g brown sugar
  • Juice & zest of one orange
  • 1/4 cup Islay Peaty Malt Whisky (I used Bowmore this time).

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C.
  2. Wash the rhubarb and chop into 4cm pieces and put them in a lightly buttered ovenproof dish or roasting tin.
  3. Sprinkle over the sugar orange juice and zest and toss together.
  4. Cover with foil and roast for 15-20 minutes or until the rhubarb is tender. Uncover and roast for another 5-10 minutes to reduce the juices until syrupy.
  5. Remove from the oven and drizzle over the malt whisky, shaking pan to combine rather than mixing rhubarb. You want to try and keep the rhubarb whole.

Ingredients – Custard

  • 2 cups of cream
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 100g sugar
  • 4 egg yolks
  • beans from one vanilla pod

Method

  1. Place milk & cream in a pan over a  very low heat and bring to a simmer.
  2. Whisk egg yolks and sugar in a bowl till combined.
  3. Whisk hot milk, vanilla beans & cream into yolk mixture.
  4. Return to a clean saucepan over a very low heat and stir constantly with a wooden spoon to prevent mixture from ‘catching’ on base of pan.
  5. Cook gently until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spoon.

Serve either rhubarb & custard together either hot or cold.

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. What a beautiful dessert!

    November 19, 2009
  2. this looks amazing and yummy!
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

    November 19, 2009
  3. What a good combination!

    November 19, 2009
  4. I love rhubarb! And, having it doused in whiskey and served with custard sounds just too scrumptious!

    November 20, 2009
  5. Love the cute spoon!🙂

    November 23, 2009
  6. Y #

    Oh yum. I love rhubarb and custard. Not a combination I grew up with, but who could say no to those flavours, especially with the “hint” of whiskey🙂

    November 28, 2009
  7. I live in Italy and believe it or not, in this era of the global market when we can get virtually any foodstuff anywhere at any time of year (where did anticipation go?) I can’t source rhubarb! On the one hand this is a great pity ‘cos I love the stuff but on the other it means that there is still a treat I have to wait for – and when I go to Scotland in the summer I have a feast – rhubarb tart, rhubarb crumble, rhubarb fool and even stalks of rhubarb dipped in sugar like I had as a child, but NEXT year – I’ll be having it with whisky! Thanks for your recipe!

    December 8, 2009
  8. Hazel #

    0H! Good god Al, You make everything look so deliciuos. Everyone, including me must feel they want to pick it out and eat it. Yummy. hope we are going to have some of these delicacies when we come over………..Love and hugs x x x

    November 24, 2010
  9. adam potter #

    I just made this to cheer my 77 year old dad up, i over did the rhubarb but got away with it !
    All the way from Orkney🙂 and i used 16year old scapa and it was delicious. thanks

    May 17, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Adam, I’m glad your Dad enjoyed it, what we would give to be enjoying the 16 year old scapa in Orkney with you! We have a little Islay malt squirreled away for the coming winter. Thanks for stopping by.

      May 18, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Whisky recipes: baked whisky rhubarb | Richard Paterson

Leave a Reply

