Skip to content

Heaven in my Kitchen – My first sour dough bread!

As some you will know, I have been feeding a sour dough baby in my fridge for days after receiving the Bread Bakers Apprentice for Christmas and finally, after one failed attempt, I put my first loaves into the oven on Sunday. I made a New York Deli Rye, as called in Peter Reinhart’s book and waited nervously for them to come out of the oven. What if after all this waiting and building up my expectations the bread didn’t turn out well? What if didn’t taste like the sour dough I expect? To my relief, the bread was divine with it’s thick crisp crust and dense but chewy, soft, sweet centre. We couldn’t even wait the hour to let it cool off as Peter advises, the smell tormenting us as it wafted through the house, so we dug in as soon as it was cool enough to get our hands round it!

The wonderful thing about a sour dough bread is that the flavour seems to mature after a few days rather than go stale so we have found ourselves enjoying bread all week. Tonight I am preparing a basic white sour dough, ready to go into the oven tomorrow when I will be celebrating my birthday with bread instead of cake….and why not, Marie Antoinette will have approved!

I haven’t added the recipe since it takes 6 days to make and I would be nervous about missing something critical out so instead I have linked to Peter Reinhart’s blog.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Welcome to the sour dough world! Isn’t it priceless to make your own bread and from your very own sourdough starter? I have a super starter in the fridge, and it works beautifully, even for things like cinnamon rolls. What fun!

    Happy bakin’!

    January 13, 2010
  2. I must say I am really impressed.

    January 13, 2010
  3. The bread looks amazing! I’ve been wanting tomake a sourdough starter for the longest.

    January 13, 2010
  4. I currently working through the King Arthur Flour cookbook, making each bread recipe that I have the ingredients for and sourdough is slowly creeping up on me. Congrats on yours coming out so well!

    January 13, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Good luck with the sour dough, it is so worth the time and effort.

      January 17, 2010
  5. Hello,
    I found your blog and I think it is absolute amazing! The recipes, the pictures, the descriptions – everything is great!

    And you even have a translator in Bulgarian, my mother language!

    I wish you luck and success!

    P.S. This bread looks incredible, I must prepare it!

    Best wishes,
    Irina🙂

    January 19, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks for dropping by Irina, I often wonder how many people are using the translate tool and whether it works well.

      January 20, 2010

Leave a Reply

