Skip to content

Baked Chocolate Fondant with Cardamom & Orange Blossom Ice Cream

Saturday was cooking class with the ‘Muriwai Girls’ and this week we were indulging our chocolate cravings with a warm fondant cake and a little ice cream to show we hadn’t completely forgotten that it was summer out there. Thankfully the surf was excellent on Friday and I spent two hours surfing that evening in preparation for the calorie onslaught the next day!

I had eaten this dessert at Clooney’s restaurant in Auckland a few weeks ago and just had to recreate it. The chocolate fondant was served with cardamom ice cream, I have made from a yoghurt base because I love the tang it offers and it is also more convenient than making a custard base, I also added the orange blossom water.

The fondant cake is quite easy to make but too tempting to bake it longer than the 12 minutes required, which is where most people go wrong and don’t try making it again. It might look a little undercooked when you take it out of the oven after 12 minutes with a shiny, soft top that looks like it will collapse but this is what you want in order to have the chocolate run out from the centre. The one I had at the restaurant stood tall and proud, mine always sink a little but taste divine, I am wondering if I increase the sugar would the shell crisp even more…does anyone know?

Ingredients – Baked Chocolate Fondant

  • 50g unsalted butter, plus extra to grease
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder, to dust
  • 50g good quality bitter chocolate (minimum 70% cocoa solids), in pieces
  • 1 free range egg
  • 1 free range egg yolk
  • 60g caster sugar
  • 50g plain flour
  • Icing sugar to dust

Method

  • Preheat oven to 160˚C.
  • Butter two large ramekins, about 7.5cm in diameter, and dust liberally with cocoa, shaking out any excess.
  • Slowly melt the chocolate and butter in a small bowl set over a pan of hot water, then take off the heat and stir until smooth. Leave to cool for 10 minutes.
  • Whisk the whole egg, egg yolk and sugar together until pale and thick.
  • Add to the chocolate mixture.
  • Sift the flour over the mixture and gently fold in, using a large metal spoon.
  • Divide between the ramekins and bake for 12 minutes.
  • Turn the chocolate fondants out on to warmed plates and dust the tops with icing sugar and serve immediately with the ice cream.

Ingredients – Cardamom & Orange Blossom Ice Cream (serves 2)

  • 150ml cream, whipped
  • 150ml Greek yoghurt
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • seeds from 1 cardamom pod
  • 1 tsp orange blossom water

Method

  1. Melt honey and cardamon together and cook gently for 2 minutes, allow to cool.
  2. Once cooled add honey and orange blossom to the yoghurt.
  3. Add whipped cream to the yoghurt and gently fold together retaining as much air and volume as possible.
  4. Pour into an ice cream maker as per manufacturer’s instructions.
  5. If you do not have an ice cream maker place into a container as it is and freeze, the whipped cream will keep the texture light but not a creamy as from an ice cream maker. But it still taste good! For this method remove from the freeze 10 minutes before serving to allow the mixture to soften slightly.
18 Comments Post a comment
  1. Orange and cardamom are a favorite flavor combination of mine…put that into ice cream… heaven! Great pairing with chocolate too!!!

    February 1, 2010
  2. Orange and cardamom?! what an unique and wonderful flavor combo! must try soon!!! love both independently🙂

    February 1, 2010
  3. These flavours are out of this world good when put together like that

    February 1, 2010
  4. What a lovely dessert!

    February 2, 2010
  5. Fondants! We had them on the dessert menu two winters ago – I was the fondant god when it came to making them! I’d try tweaking your temperature to achieve the firmer exterior. I’ll see if I can find my old kitchen notebook; I always threw in notes on stuff I would make, so there might be something in there that might help. I love your ice cream, & the orange blossom water would just nudge it that much closer to perfection – you really are a talent.

    February 2, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      You will just have to tell me when they are back on the menu and I will come and visit!

      February 3, 2010
  6. This looks totally irresistible and I love the combination of cardamom and chocolate.

    February 2, 2010
  7. I miss this so much……. your chocolate fondant looks delicious! Simply taste great with any companion!

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

    February 3, 2010
  8. G. #

    oh…that ice cream – brilliant flavors! how perfect to go with the rich baked fondant cake.

    February 4, 2010
  9. Love the gooey fondant oozing out!!

    February 5, 2010
  10. I just died and went to heaven. Love the orange – cardamom flavor in an ooozy chocolate lava cake. Amazingly delicious and beautiful!

    February 5, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      The molten chocolate is definitely the draw card! I had to test several of these before introducing it to class! I’m just so dedicated aren’t I?

      February 5, 2010
  11. I have just discovered your blog and already I am an addict.

    Thank you for sharing such a delightful recipe. I am superexcited that I have all the requisite ingredients in my pantry and can not wait to sink my spoon into that oozing chocolatey goodness!

    H🙂

    February 7, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Enjoy and let me know how it turns out! You can also add some orange zest to the chocolate cake mix if you aren’t making the ice cream, that works well to with vanilla ice cream.

      February 8, 2010
      • Ok, I tried to make the cakes. But I tried to make them gluten-free.

        Aside from a sneaking suspicion that my oven is a little precious (my cakes took 30 minutes to set!), I could do nothing to release them – so we ate them from the ramekins, served with double cream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/25266379@N03/4473756914/

        They still tasted darn good. Thanks for a delicious recipe!

        H🙂

        March 29, 2010
      • peasepudding #

        Hi Hannah,
        I would be interested to know what flour you used to make them gluten free and what quantities? And even after 30 minutes were they still gooey inside?

        March 29, 2010
      • The cakey casing was quite crumbly. I used a flour I hadn’t used before, which should have made me think twice about it🙂 It was a prepackaged mix of tapioca starch, maize, starch, soy flour & rice flour.

        After 30 minutes, they were still fabulously gooey inside. I really think I need a new oven.

        March 30, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. It’s all about the chocolate, Part 2 « a very foodly diary

Leave a Reply

