Skip to content

Potted Shrimps with Sour Dough

P likes to collect the new Jamie Oliver magazines, most of which I pick up while I am in Sydney as they aren’t so easy to find here in Auckland. One of the recipes we have had our eye on for a while has been the potted shrimps which reminds me so much be of seaside resorts back home. I never liked them when I was young but you know what nostalgia is like? Everything improves the further away the memory is and I had built tehm in my mind to be this great dish of home. I served them as part of an antipasta at a dinner party, they were very popular but I think everyone else liked them more than I did!

Here is Jamie’s recipe with a few additional herbs that I added.

Ingredients

  • 150g butter
  • a good pinch of cayenne pepper
  • a good pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
  • 250g peeled brown shrimps
  • zest of one lemon
  • tbsp chopped parsley
  • tbsp chopped dill

Ingredients

  1. Place 50g butter, cayenne pepper and grated nutmeg into a medium-sized pan and melt over a gentle heat.
  2. Add the peeled shrimps and stir over the heat for a couple of minutes until they have cooked through, but don’t let the mixture boil.
  3. Add the lemon zest, parsley & dill to the shrimps.
  4. Divide the shrimps and butter between 4 small ramekins. Level the tops and then leave them to set in the fridge.
  5. Melt the rest of the butter and spoon over the shrimps and leave to set once more.
  6. Serve with sour dough or crusty brown bread.
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love that plate – I’ve seen in a few of your pictures, where did you get it?

    February 25, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      It’s from one of our department stores Farmers, I love to pick up plates with different patterns on them.

      February 27, 2010
  2. Wow, I haven’t had potted shrimp in years! We have an old English friend (ex-merchant marine, hard drinker & teller of tales: “Did you know I was in the original “The Italian Job?”) who, when in the mood, would whip up a batch – delicious! Well done, Alli!

    February 26, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      He sounds like a fun friend to have around for dinner and a few beers!

      February 27, 2010

Leave a comment