Skip to content

Ann’s Chocolate Fruit Wedding Cake

I have a lovely colleague at work who had decided to renew her wedding vows now that they had settled in New Zealand, they wanted something personal and intimate, something special for themselves. She wasn’t going to make a big fuss over it but once I discovered they were having a special day I quickly volunteered to gift the wedding cake to them. Because they were having a intimate wedding she hadn’t expected a ‘cake cutting’ but I hoped my gift to them would make their day just a bit more special. Since Ann was keeping everything low key she hadn’t thought about having a cake let alone the ‘ideal’ wedding cake so we opted for something that would match her wedding dress which was the colour of antique rose.

The ingredients below will make the two tier cakes, 22cm and 12cm.

It was made from my traditional chocolate fruit cake which I use for all celebrations cakes and I believe it was a great hit with the guests. The top half I told Ann we would normally freeze and redecorate for the first babies christening and I would be happy to do this for her second baby since she already has one year old son.

Ingredients

  • 2 cup dried sultanas
  • 1 cup dried raisins
  • 1 cup dried currants
  • 1 cup chopped dried figs
  • 1 cup chopped prunes
  • 100g 70% chocolate, chopped small
  • 1 cup almonds, chopped
  • 1 cup of Brandy
  • zest & juice of one orange
  • 300g butter, softened
  • 1.25 cups brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2. 25 cups of SR Flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ginger

Method

  1. Place all the fruit and nuts in a bowl and pour over the brandy, orange juice and zest  and allow to soak over night.
  2. Preheat the oven to 140 degrees centigrade.
  3. Grease and line the cake tins with greaseproof paper, allowing the greaseproof paper to come up the sides 4 centimetres higher than the cake tin.
  4. Beat the sugar and butter together until light and fluffy.
  5. Add one egg at a time and beat the mixture in between each addition.
  6. Add the flour, chocolate and spices to the fruit and mix together, ensuring all the fruit is evenly coated.
  7. Add the butter mixture to the fruit and flour and mix together till well combined.
  8. Spoon mixture into cake tin then cover with a circle of greaseproof paper to protect the top from going too brown.
  9. Bake for 2 hours, 15 minutes and then check the cake with a skewer. If the skewer does not come out clean bake for a further 10 minutes and test again. repeat process until baked through. The small cake should be cooked with an hour.
  10. Allow to cool in the tin to retain the moisture.
  11. Wrap in tin foil, glad wrap or a cake tin until ready to ice or serve.
11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful and now thoughtful of you!

    February 28, 2010
  2. Very sweet of you to make this gorgeous cake for her… simply beautiful!

    February 28, 2010
  3. Absolutely gorgeous! I love the imprint on the sides. Sounds very nummy too!

    March 1, 2010
  4. trissalicious #

    What a lovely gift you’ve given her – this is one of the best wedding presents someone can receive! I admire your talent – truly a work of art.

    March 2, 2010
  5. You are a true artiste. Not only does the cake sound absolutely wonderful, but the decor, especially the roses..are spectacular! Lucky lucky friend!

    March 2, 2010
  6. Bev #

    What a lovely friend you are and what a beautiful feminine cake – I am sure it made her day!

    March 4, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks for all the compliments, I am feeling more confident with these major cake decorating occasions but certainly need some more practice. The embossing of the icing is a sneaky way of covering up flaws and makes it look delicate. I wish I could just photograph them better…any tips for photographing large cakes?

      March 5, 2010
  7. This cake is aboslutely gorgeous!

    March 5, 2010
  8. What an gorgeous gift! I think your photography skills are awesome, the cake looks amazing🙂 Could I ask you a couple of questions? I’m considering making my own wedding cake….how long will the choc fruit cake keep for: weeks/months? Would you ice it say a week in advance or could you do that earlier? Thanks heaps!🙂

    May 1, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hi, Thanks for the kind words. Yes the cake will keep for months before you ice it, it’s just like Christmas cake so if you make it several months before (2-3) then just add brush the outside of the cake with brandy once a week to help preserve it. Make sure you keep the cake in a air tight tin or wrapped in several layers of tin foil. You could ice it about 2 weeks earlier and keep it in boxes but I wouldn’t do it much earlier because the fruit cake may start to dry out. Good luck! When is the wedding?

      May 2, 2010
  9. “A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart. I am alone, and feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine. I am so happy, my dear friend, so absorbed in the exquisite sense of mere tranquil existence, that I neglect my talents. I should be incapable of drawing a single stroke at the present moment; and yet I feel that I never was a greater artist than now.”

    Totally love what you wrote above!!!

    September 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

