Skip to content

Anzac Biscuits with Lime Zest

Having only arrived back in the country a few hours ago and not having baked a single thing for a whole week while we were away I was dying to get back into my kitchen again. There had not been many sweet treats to devour on Rarotonga, well manmade ones as there was certainly plenty of amazing tropical fruit which I feasted on everyday. But a girl does still crave chocolate or a biscuit or two after a few days and I was hanging out for some by the end of the week. Since it is Anzac day today I decided to make the biscuits with the same name, surprisingly I haven’t ever made them before, although I can’t say the same about eating them.

This is a nice quick recipe from the Kiwi icon Edmonds Cook Book which P kindly loaned me, it appears that most Kiwi’s have a copy given to them as they leave home to fend for themselves enabling them to continue cooking and baking their family favourites. I have to confess though, I can’t help but tweak the original so I have noted both recipes below.

Ingredients – makes approx 12

  • 125g flour
  • 100g sugar (original recipe has 150g)
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup coconut
  • 100g butter
  • 1 tbsp honey (original recipe is golden syrup which I didn’t have)
  • 1 tbsp boiling water
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • zest of 1 lime (my addition)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 170C.
  2. Grease two baking sheets.
  3. Mix together flour, sugar, coconut, lime zest and rolled oats.
  4. Melt butter & honey (or syrup) together.
  5. Dissolve baking soda in the boiling water and add to the butter and honey.
  6. Stir liquid into the flour mixture.
  7. Place spoonfuls on a greased tray.
  8. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.
  9. Cool on a wire rack
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. wow, seems we had the same inspiration of adding citrus zest…
    http://www.lensandlentils.com/2010/04/anzac-biscuits-cookies-from-down-under.html

    I must say, that really gives those cookies an extra kick…

    April 25, 2010
  2. Edmonds! The “Silver Spoon” of NZ ;P Pretty biscuits too, love the plate, I’m a bit envious of all your crockery it seems!

    April 25, 2010
  3. this is a very new recipe to me! looks scrumptious!

    April 27, 2010
  4. Love the addition of zest. I didn’t make Anzacs this year, or Hot Cross buns at Easter. *hangs head in shame*

    April 28, 2010

Leave a Reply

