Skip to content

Chocolate Ginger Nut Biscuits

We both came down with colds last week and when I feel poorly all I want to do is sit at home all snuggled up on the sofa with a pot of tea and some biscuits. Unfortunately there were no biscuits in the house, I never buy them otherwise I will eat the whole packet in one sitting and feel terrible afterwards! So once I was starting to feel a little more human again after a few days of coughing and spluttering (being a bit of a drama queen that I am there was quite a bit since it is the first cold I have had in 4 years) I headed to the kitchen to make a batch. I had ginger nut biscuits on my mind for days, it was one of my favourite ‘dunking’ biscuit back in the UK so I headed straight for Delia Smith online, the guru of English home baking (after Mrs Beeton of course)  and found this recipe for ginger nuts biscuits with a hint of chocolate in them.

It’s very quick recipe which creates a ginger nut biscuit far superior than any you can buy in the shop, so all you ginger nut fans out there it’s a must. Crisp, crunchy biscuits loaded with ginger spice, good for any cold, well that’s my excuse anyway…. feeling better already!

Ingredients

  • 50g chopped dark chocolate, 70%
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 110g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 50g butter
  • 50g sugar
  • 50g honey or golden syrup (2 tbsp)

Method

  1. Pre heat oven to 180C.
  2. Sift flour, ginger and bicarbonate of soda into a bowl.
  3. Rub butter into flour until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs then add the sugar and chopped chocolate.
  4. Add the honey/golden syrup and mix everything with a spoon, finish off by squeezing the mixture together with your hands.
  5. Divide the mixture into 12, and roll each portion into a ball.
  6. Place on the lined baking sheet, well spaced out as they will spread quite a bit during baking, flatten each one slightly.
  7. Bake on the centre shelf for 15-20 minutes, or until they have spread out and turned cracked and craggy.
  8. Cool on the baking tray for a few minutes then, using a palette knife, remove to a wire rack to cool completely.
7 Comments Post a comment
  1. sasa #

    Love gingernuts! I’ve never made em though, good to know I have a recipe I can come to on your site. Feel better soon x

    May 9, 2010
  2. Oh!! I looove dunking biscuits in tea tooo!! :))) best part of tea for me! :DD

    am gonna make these.. so difficult to find dunkable biscuit recipes!

    May 9, 2010
  3. I used to love gingernuts too – the really hard, crunchy type. Then they started making them soft and I stopped buying them…and now ofcourse I don’t buy any commercial biscuits at all. I must give these a try…I wonder if my kids would like them….

    May 10, 2010
  4. M. #

    Ginger and chocolate together….yes please!!!
    these biscuits sound amazing and looks like they are simple to make….🙂

    May 10, 2010
  5. Great recipe – I recommend checking the biscuits after 10 minutes though. Mine were a little burnt at the 15 minute mark. I’ll be trying them again soon!

    May 11, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks for the comment, I think I will get an independent temp gauge and check my oven is correct to rule out any discrepancies, I would hate for people to burn stuff if my oven is running low! Having said that, the biscuits should be a dark brown so they go crunchy, I know mine took 18 minutes to cook. I’ll update the post if I find any variation.

      May 11, 2010
  6. Alli! How’s things? Sorry for not stopping by sooner – I’ve been both busy & slack. Glad to see your cooking classes are super popular – little wonder given what you offer! I like the sound of your gingernut bikkies, so I’m going to give them a go on Saturday.

    May 18, 2010

Leave a Reply

