Skip to content

Rhubarb & Custard Cake

Sorry about the bad photo but I decided I should post this recipe anyway because it is so yummy.

You will realise that the colder weather has hit Auckland with all comfort food recipes starting to appear on my blog. I found some lovely rhubarb at the veggie shop last week and just had to make something with it. When I think of Rhubarb I always associate it with custard but i wanted something a little more than just the two things together which is how the cake was born. I used the ever trusty cake recipe of equal flour, sugar and butter quantities placing a layer of baked rhubarb & custard in between the sponge mix prior to baking. It creates a very moist cake which is best eaten warm, straight from the oven.

Ingredients

  • 200g butter
  • 200g castor sugar
  • 200g self raising flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 300g rhubarb
  • 1 inch fresh ginger (finely chopped/zested) or 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 300ml custard
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar

Method

  1. Pre heat oven to 180C and grease & flour a 22cm cake tin
  2. Cut the rhubarb into 1 inch pieces and place into a bowl. Add the brown sugar and ginger and combine the ingredients.
  3. Place rhubarb on a baking tin and bake for 10 minutes. The rhubarb should still be firm when you remove from the oven. Drain off any juice (although there is not likely to be much).
  4. Place butter & sugar in a bowl and beat with an electric whisk or good old fashioned wooded spoon until light and fluffy.
  5. Add one egg at a time and whisk in between both additions.
  6. Sift flour into mixture and fold gently through with a metal spoon so not to loose all the air that has been beaten in.
  7. Add the milk and combine. This makes the mix a little softer to it is easier to spread over the rhubarb.
  8. Spoon 1/3 of the mixture into the cake tin.
  9. Pour the custard over this first layer of sponge.
  10. Lay the baked rhubarb over the custard.
  11. Spoon blobs of the rest of sponge mix over the custard and smooth to cover all of the rhubarb. If you blob the sponge initially it will be easier to smooth over the wet custard & rhubarb.
  12. Bake in oven for 45-55 minutes or until an inserted knife comes out of the sponge clean.
  13. Serve warm.
8 Comments Post a comment
  1. sasa #

    Ooh it looks a bit like a rhubarb clafoutis!

    May 23, 2010
  2. I completely support posting tasty recipes, even if your photo didn’t turn out! I can still tell it looks delicious🙂

    May 23, 2010
  3. M. #

    I looked at the photo you posted and my first reaction was: YUMMMM!!!! but I guess we’re our own toughest critics.🙂
    recipe sounds really good🙂

    May 24, 2010
  4. spiceandmore #

    sounds yummy. I must make this for my son who absolutely loves rhubarb…and custard!

    May 27, 2010
  5. anna-michele #

    I have a backyard in Durham (Nth East Uk)brimming with Rhubarb, so made this last night aofr a wet and cold early summer eve! Forgot to put the ginger in with the rhubarb, so added 2 teaspoons to the sponge mix and topped the pud off with slivers of stem ginger….delish alright!

    June 8, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      HI Anna, See, you have lots of Rhubarb if no feijoas, I can’t get mine to grow in Muriwai, I think it is actually too warm here. Shouldn’t complain about that should I. I think I paid $4 for my 300g of Rhubarb, something I had never bought before because in the UK, as you say the back yards are brimming over with it. Your modification to the recipe sounds great and I love the addition of stem ginger!

      June 9, 2010
  6. maxine #

    IT! IS! DELICIOUS!! YUMMY! SCRUMMY!

    June 11, 2010
  7. A classic combination brought together in a cake. Brilliant.

    June 12, 2010

Leave a Reply

