Skip to content

Homemade Muesli

I enjoy muesli in the morning but lately I have been really disappointed with the ones I have bought at the supermarket, they are always too sugary. So why don’t I make my own muesli? It only takes 5 minutes to put together and 15 minutes to roast. I used to make it but got out of the habit until I was at a friends house on Friday and she proudly presented her freshly made batch of muesli. Well I was inspired and the next morning I decided that’s what I would do and raided the pantry, knowing there would be plenty in there that would suffice. That’s the good thing about muesli you can use all your left over nuts, seeds and fruit let over from backing.

The recipe below is what I put together Saturday morning, you can use anything you like just stick to the ratios and you will get a great muesli.

Ingredients

  • 250g rye flakes (or oats)
  • 100 whole nuts (I used pistachio & walnuts)
  • 100g seeds (I used linseed & pumpkin seeds)
  • 100g dried fruit (I used figs & sultanas)
  • 100g dried coconut
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C
  2. Whisk the honey and oil together
  3. Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl
  4. Add the oil and honey and mix until all the dried ingredients are coated.
  5. Spread over 2 baking sheets
  6. Bake for 15 minutes
  7. Allow to cool completely before putting into a storage container.
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. sasa #

    I should get back to it too – I’ve got used to raw muesli but I do love a good toasted one. Did the spice arrive yet?

    June 14, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Yeaahhh, it arrived today, I am so excited. Thank you so much for sending it, I will eat the Lebkucken I make in your honour!

      June 14, 2010
  2. When I had my stall at the market last summer, there was a young couple who sold their own muesli blends. They supplied quite a few local cafes with product & were making mad money! I’m quite partial to a good Bircher muesli, I have to say.

    June 15, 2010
  3. Roz #

    This museli looks amazing I’m going to try it this week, I am a muesli fiend!

    Apart from raving about cereal, I wanted to get in touch to see if you’d be interested in entering our competition to find New Zealand’s Top Food Blogger? The prize includes tickets to see Rick Stein on his tour of NZ, your blog entry published in the program – and so read by hundreds of foodies – plus loads of Rick Stein goodies. Bit too many details to post here, but please email blogger@acmn.co.nz and I’ll send you all the details if you’re interested.
    Best wishes,
    Roz

    June 15, 2010
  4. Bev #

    I now have your muesli recipe and am going to make my own batch tomorrow. Thanks!!

    July 18, 2010

Leave a Reply

