Skip to content

Chocolate, Hazelnut & Orange Tart

It’s quite deceptive this tart, it looks rather pleasant but doesn’t jump out at you with decadence and have you drooling at the picture but believe me it is rather unexpectedly delicious! I saw the recipe in one of our local NZ food magazines and thought “hmm looks pleasant, I’ll throw that one together for sunday dinner with friends”. The combination of hazelnut, orange and chocolate together are perfect, not too sweet and quite luxurious. I don’t often make things twice but I loved it so much I made it again this weekend for a friends birthday treat…. I hope she lets me have some!

Ingredients

  • 300g sweet short pastry
  • 210g hazelnuts, finely chopped (not ground completely)
  • 150g castor sugar
  • 90g butter
  • 2 eggs
  • Zest of one orange
  • 100g 70% chocolate, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp orange liqueur

Method

  1. Pre heat oven to 180C.
  2. Roll out pastry to fit a 24-26cm loose bottom tart tin. Place pastry case in fridge while making the filling.
  3. In a large bowl beat together the butter & sugar.
  4. Add eggs and beat for further two minutes until light & fluffy.
  5. Add the chopped hazelnuts, chopped chocolate, orange zest and liqueur to the bowl and combine all the ingredients.
  6. Spoon the mixture into the tart case and smooth the top.
  7. Bake for 30-35 minutes on a low shelf in oven (helps cook pastry quicker) until the filing is set and golden in colour.
  8. Allow to cool in tart tin before removing.
6 Comments Post a comment
  1. I dunno, looks pretty jump and and grab you to me! I love chocolate and hazelnut, it’s a classic for good reason…Look forward to the lebkuchen ^_^

    June 27, 2010
  2. Ohh…. this looks perfect to me.
    I’m bookmarking this, thanks!!

    June 28, 2010
  3. Perfect and gorgeous. It may not jump out at you but I am jumping all over this recipe and printing it right now:-)

    July 18, 2010
  4. Wow, this looks delicious!

    April 19, 2012
  5. Mhairi #

    What pastry recipe did you use?

    February 16, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. a1s5h0a2 | Pearltrees

Leave a Reply

