Skip to content

Feijoa & Kiwifruit Lamingtons & a search for NZ’s Top Food Blogger


To celebrate Rick Stein's visit to New Zealand this winter and his Food Odyssey in Auckland & Wellington, Lunch Box Productions have asked NZ Food Bloggers to create a post that most signifies the ultimate Kiwi dish for them.

(http://www.lunchbox-productions.com/show_rstein/overview.shtm)

For me, there are a lot of similarities between English and New Zealand cuisine, but what stands NZ apart are things like feijoas, which I had never heard of till I came here, seafood such as Whitebait and Paua or Iki Mata and the tradition of Hangi. Then there are the sweet things like Anzac Biscuits, Afgans, Lamingtons, Rocky Road and Pavlova, although the Aussies might disagree on the latter few, but I will sit on the fence for that argument.

I thought about creating a whitebait fritter canapé but they aren’t in season and cooking should be all about fresh seasonal products where possible. I can’t dive for paua and no one volunteered their service in this colder weather so that was out to. But you all know me and my love of desserts and feijoas just happen to be in season, I have recently posted a few recipes with the very same ingredient so I would have to scratch my head for some new ideas. What if I took a traditional Laminton and gave it a feijoa jacket?

Feijoa & Kiwifruit Lamingtons

Ingredients:

  • 200g flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • 200g butter
  • 200g white sugar
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • Whipped cream for filling
  • 8 Feijoas & 2 kiwifruit
  • 1/2 cup sugar

Preparation:

  1. To make the jam for outside of the Lamington, scoop out pulp from the feijoas and skin & dice kiwifruit.
  2. Add fruit to a pan with 1/2 cup sugar, simmer till soft.
  3. Mash fruit to a pulp if required and simmer till the fruit thickens. Allow to cool before using.
  4. To make the sponge, preheat the oven to 350F (180C).
  5. Grease & flour an 8 inch square cake tin. Set aside.
  6. In a large bowl add the butter and icing sugar until pale and fluffy.
  7. Add the eggs one at a time and beat well after adding each egg.
  8. Sift the flour into the mixture and fold in with a metal spoon.
  9. Add the milk and combine to make a smooth cake mixture.
  10. Spread the mixture into the cake tin, making sure it’s evenly spread.
  11. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes. Test the center of the cake with a skewer and make sure it comes out clean.
  12. Cool the cake in the tin for about 5 minutes and then invert it onto a wire rack to cool.
  13. Once the cake has cooled cut it into squares of a desired size and place them in an airtight container. Pop the container in the fridge for at least 2 hours or even overnight. This make the sponge easier to handle.
  14. Coat all of each square with the feijoa & kiwifruit jam.
  15. Slice the square through the middle and fill with whipped cream.
  16. Pour coconut into a bowl and add one square of Lamington at a time and coat each side with coconut.
  17. Enjoy!
28 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great recipe- like I think I said in another comment to you, I love feijoas and this is pretty and very Kiwi, good job!

    July 11, 2010
  2. Red #

    Hmmmm looks good, my Lamingtons consist of brought sponge, sloppy chocolate and patchy coconut!!! (some people say I can’t cook……). I may have to step up my game and give these a go!! Or better yet you could bring some for us to try!!

    July 11, 2010
  3. Matt #

    Great looking recipe. Will give them a try this weekend as have got relatives coming over from the UK, and these will be perfect accompaniment with a cup of tea or coffee.
    I will keep an eye out for your Whitebait Fritter recipe when the come into season…Yum!

    July 11, 2010
  4. A wonderful creative concept – the perfect combo of a Brit and Kiwi classic…

    I’ve tried some of your other recipes – and they are an absolute winner. Particularly love the Lavash, blue vein shortbread & cheese!

    Please, please keep posting new recipes – love the pics!

    July 12, 2010
  5. Kay Pirrie #

    A very clever and creative recipe and as I am very fond of Feijoas and Kiwifruit will definitely make this to take to a morning tea at work this week.

    July 12, 2010
  6. maxine #

    takes me back to wonderful childhood memories of weekend Choco. Lamington Treat. What a cool twist on one of my fav! fruits the feijoa. Keep expanding my comfort zone🙂

    July 12, 2010
  7. Jackie Giles #

    I LOVE feijoas and I have a terrible sweet tooth, so this recipe is perfect for me. Plus I’m a fan of Alli’s cooking anyway!

    July 12, 2010
  8. Maggie #

    huummmm sweet and fruity ……sounds like my sort of lamington …am now finally inspired to make lamingtons myself!!

    July 12, 2010
  9. Janine Hedley #

    Yum Alli – what a great idea. Another mouth-watering picture/recipe to add to your absolutely fabulous blog!

    July 12, 2010
  10. Shirley #

    Sounds a lovely idea!!
    Dont know if we can get the feijoa things over ere….what would be a close option?

    July 12, 2010
  11. danielle #

    wow, looks delicious, I can’t wait for feijoas to cme back into season so I can try it out!

    July 12, 2010
  12. Bev #

    Both ingredients are a firm favourite in our house – Lamingtons and Feijoas. I can’t wait to try this one out on them. Thanks for the idea🙂

    July 12, 2010
  13. Yuuuummmmmm these look delicious!!! Beats the usual dry chocolate offering from the bakery!

    July 12, 2010
  14. Hilary #

    I agree with you abut feijoas. When I moved to NZ from Australia, I’d never heard of them. Other Kiwi classics we don’t have are afghans, louise slice, green lip mussels, whitebait fritters and mince on toast on cafe menus. I hope you get to see Rick Stein!

    July 12, 2010
  15. sherryberry #

    Hmmm.What a lovely idea! Like your thinking Ally. Will give hubby to try! Tee hee

    July 12, 2010
  16. Cathy #

    I LOVE lamingtons – so nostalgic and so comforting; but this modern uptake combines iconic kiwi with contemporary and fresh!
    Will definitely make. Great photo! Love your site.

    July 12, 2010
  17. Hazel #

    I don’t think there is anything that Alli does that doesn’t taste or look delicious. The feijoa and kiwi lamingstons look gorgeous and very edible. Although I baked a lot when my kids were young. I never reached the heights that I feel Alli has aspired to. She has a lot more patience than me. I am so proud of her achievemnets. keep up the good work. She has certainly gone beyond her Nan’s expertise, who, if she was still here would be singing Alli’s praises the LOUDEST!!!!!

    July 12, 2010
  18. RRayH #

    As usual, a killer track from Alli. That traditional, ‘A Lamington” we all know and love remixed to 2010. Yum yum factor of 10. Dare you to do the same thing to a custard square.

    July 12, 2010
  19. Bronwen #

    Lamingtonsare my daughters favourite cakes. She has a birthday soon so I’m going to make some of these for her. Love your site Ali . Keep inspiring us with your great recipes and lovely photos.

    July 13, 2010
  20. Ingrid #

    I love it! Not that keen on regular lamingtons but this sounds delicious!! I can count on you to always come up with great recipes, we are still enjoying your plum sauce, mmmmm I will try these out (or get chrissy to make them for me)

    July 13, 2010
  21. Gerry #

    Because they were not chocolate covered in coconut, I didn’t recognize them as LAMINGTONS. But that didn’t stop me coming back for more. They were so yum. Thanks, Ali for these and all your other brilliant tasty treats.

    July 13, 2010
  22. Pat #

    Looks like a great recipe. Sorry I didn’t get to try one the other night. My husband must have been too tempted when bringing one to me. Was all gone before he got anywhere near me.

    July 13, 2010
  23. The Everest Chef #

    This sounds delicious. I can recollect having some feijolas on our last visit to New Zealand. but this is a whole new ball game. I am now under severe pressure from the management to have a go and prepare ths ‘pudding’ for afters. Who knows where it may lead? I hope it will go down well after a Talahui Murghi!

    July 13, 2010
  24. Yummy lamingtons!🙂

    July 16, 2010
  25. Jim #

    Hey, I tried it and it was delightful. Certainy worthy try. Five Stars from me. Jim

    July 19, 2010
  26. That’s a great idea using, feijoa jam for the coating bit different that the usual chocolate or raspberry Jelly. Excellent

    July 21, 2010
  27. Diana #

    Hi Alli,

    They look beautiful. Can’t wait to try them when we come and visit you. Unfortunately we don’t have Feijoa here in australia.😦

    July 24, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Seasonal Recipes (Autumn) ~ Feijoas | Mama's Style

Leave a Reply

