Skip to content

Apple Fritters without Deep Frying!

It’s not that I don’t like deep fried food, far from it, Friday night fish and chips from the local ‘chippie’ was my favourite dinner growing up and back then in the UK it was all cooked in lard not vegetable oil. I just don’t really like the smell of cooked fat that lingers on for days in the house. Friends have suggested I get one of those fryers with a lid but it I just know it would end up being one of the many appliances that go into the corner kitchen cupboard with the nifty carrousel shelve that hides things at the back, never to be seen again once they go it there. It’s my Mary Poppin’s hand bag, always offering up surprises you didn’t expect to be in there.

So the fritters held their shape in the pan and the dough didn’t run off the apple slices before turning, I used a thicker yeast batter. The key with this batter is to keep the apple slices thin so the batter cooks through on each side.

Ingredients – makes approximately 14 fritters

  • 2 Apples
  • 200g plain flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp fast-action dried yeast
  • 200ml warm milk
  • 150ml warm water
  • spray vegetable oil
  • icing sugar and cinnamon for dusting

Method

  1. Place flour in a large bowl and stir in the sugar and yeast making a well in the centre.
  2. Pour in the warm milk and water and beat until combined to give quite a thick batter, it is possible that you will not need all of the fluid. Cover bowl with a tea towel.
  3. Leave in a warm place to rise for about an hour, it should double in volume.
  4. Once batter is ready, core apples and slice thinly.
  5. Heat a non-stick frying pan over a medium heat and give the pan a light spray of oil.
  6. Dip each apple ring into the batter and place into the pan, leave enough space in between so they are easy to turn over.
  7. Fry on each side till golden brown, keeping each batch warm in the oven until all fritters are cooked.
  8. Sprinkle with icing sugar and cinnamon and serve with maple syrup, ice cream or custard!
10 Comments Post a comment
  1. How delicious! If you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

    August 8, 2010
  2. kaori #

    YUMM~~nice winter dessert idea!
    i am making my own Gnocchi tonight.

    August 8, 2010
  3. Good call! These look great. I totally agree about the fried food smell in the house and this is just the perfect solution. They look so wonderful. Next on my list…..

    August 9, 2010
  4. Yummy! These look totally delicious and adorable without any deep frying hassle – genius. Have just saved this page🙂

    August 9, 2010
  5. sarakata #

    These look yummy! I just made the deep fried version the other week, but I think I’ll try this one out soon!🙂

    August 11, 2010
  6. Lucy #

    I made these when I visited my neighbours. I chopped up the apples in advance and put them in lemon water, did the batter … and cooked them up in their kitchen. I added some spices to the batter (cinnamon, ground ginger, cardamon), and cut the water by 50ml as mine seemed really runny; served them with ice cream and caramel sauce. Turned out deliciously!! Not too sweet, the batter let the apples shine through! I had some left over mix I stuck in my fridge and the next day I did some more apples and some banana – it was still yummy (but a bit too yeasty). Thanks for the recipe!

    August 29, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Sounds fantastic, I like the idea of the spices in the dough and bananas in the batter too….yum. I’ll make a comment about the water on my post for anyone else, thanks for the feedback.

      August 30, 2010
  7. Tom #

    It’s not that I don’t like deep deep-fried food, off from it, Friday night fish and chips from the native ‘chippie’ was my favorite dinner growing up and previously within the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland it absolutely was all burnt in lard not edible fat.

    April 19, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com
  2. מתכונים שנראים טעימים | תפוחים – הלביבה

Leave a Reply

