Skip to content

Poached Rhubarb and Vanilla Bean Rice Pudding

I made this little treat for myself since P doesn’t eat rice pudding. I thought it would make a great breakfast after a few lengths in the pool so I also put some into little jars and took it to work with me for morning tea. I ate mine cold as a summer dessert, I’m trying to convince the weather into changing, but you could also serve it warm.

Ingredients – Rhubarb

  • 400g Rhubarb
  • 2 tbsp sugar

Method

  1. Wash and cut rhubarb into 1 inch thick pieces.
  2. Place into a heavy bottom pan with sugar, there should be enough water from washing the rhubarb cooking.
  3. Poach on a very low heat until rhubarb is tender, try not to stir the rhubarb as it will break up.
  4. Divide between 4 bowls

Ingredients – vanilla bean rice

  • 1 cup white rice, I used arborio this time
  • 4 cups of milk
  • 1 cup of cream
  • 3 tbsp castor sugar or honey
  • 1 vanilla pod

Method

  1. Split and de-seed the vanilla pod
  2. Add the milk, rice and vanilla seeds to heavy bottom pan and bring ingredients to the boil.
  3. Once boiled, stir the rice and reduce the heat to the lowest setting possible. Keep stirring the rice every few minutes to prevent sticking to the pan.
  4. Once it has thickened test to see if the rice is soft, if not add more milk. Once soft add the sugar to the rice and then the cream.
  5. Cook for a further minute and then either allow to cool slightly and pour onto the rhubarb or serve immediately, this depends whether you are going to have a hot or cold dessert.
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Bev #

    Now that certainly would make for a delicious healthy and hearty breaksfast.

    October 23, 2010
  2. This pudding looks delicious!

    I’d love for you to submit one of your beautiful photos, and a link to your post, to my new food photo gallery showcasing beautiful baking and desserts.

    October 24, 2010
  3. I love rhubarb, so this and the pavlova above are so appealing to me! Too bad I have to wait another 5 or months for the rhubarb, but I know the wait will be worth it! Hope you got your summer weather.🙂

    November 3, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      The weather has been great for spring, sadly my rhubarb doesn’t like coastal life and has only sprouted 3 inches :o/ so I have had to buy my rhubarb.

      November 4, 2010

Leave a Reply

