Skip to content

Wing of Skate with Beurre Noisette, Lemon & Capers

Over the past few years gourmet produce shops have been popping up all over Auckland and finally one has opened close to my workplace called Farro. It was a very exciting day indeed, I had even discussed it with my English hairdresser the week prior and we promised to give each other a run down of what we had bought on my next hair appointment. Well I have already been there twice in one week and if I carry on like this I won’t be able to afford my next hair appointment. For those of you who do not live in New Zealand you might find it quiet odd that I can get so excited about a gourmet produce store but with a small population here in NZ there has always been less demand for Deli style food imported or home grown.

Farro sells my favourite bread from a local award winning bakery Wild Wheat, it has a fabulous fish monger and butcher, oodles of imported Italian, Spanish & French products as well as local gourmet food. I have, in the past week eaten banana prawns from Australia and white anchovies from Spain, cold meats from all around the world and my favourite goats cheese from Over The Moon in Putararu, just to name a few.

Yesterday they were selling wing of skate which I haven’t seen in either a shop or on a restaurant menu since we were last in France so it went straight into my shopping basket. I believe with wing of skate the old saying of KISS (keep it simple stupid) applies so I just lightly pan fried it, added nut butter, lemon zest and capers….divine, tastes much better than it looks! It was served with steamed seasonal asparagus and a crusty Puglia loaf to mop up the juices. Thank you Farro!

Ingredients – for 2 people

  • 1 wing of skate
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • tblsp capers, chopped
  • Zest & juice of 1 lemon
  • Handful parsley, chopped
  • 1 tbsp flour for dusting skate
  • 1 tbsp oil for frying skate

Method

  1. Put the capers, lemon zest & juice in a small bowl.
  2. Lightly dust the skate wing with flour and shake off any excess, season skate with salt & pepper.
  3. In a good cast iron frying pan or non stick pan add the tablespoon of oil and place over a medium heat.
  4. Cook the skate for approximately 2 minutes on each side (depending on thickness of wings). The flesh should be jsut cooked through, you don’t want to over cook it or it will become dry.
  5. Remove the skate from the pan and plate on serving dishes.
  6. Add the butter to the hot pan for approximately 1 minute so it turns a nutty brown butter (beurre noisette), add the capers, zest & lemon juice and give it a quick swirl then pour over the skate.
  7. Sprinkle with parsley.
  8. I served my skate with seasonal steamed asparagus and fresh bread to mop up any juices.
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Another Farro fan, hooray! Although Mr PK suggested I just get my wages paid directly to the Mt Wellington branch, I visit so often it would save time…….dangerous having one nearby!

    November 7, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Torta di mele con burro nocciola | qbbq

Leave a Reply

