Skip to content

Baked Pears with Manuka Honey, Orange Blossom Water & Pistachio

I have been reading LondonEats Blog who talked about compulsive produce shopping and I knew I wasn’t alone! I do that and I am sure many of you do too. I see lovely produce in the shop, perhaps something not common to our market like kumquats or dragon fruit or maybe a perfectly formed piece of baby fennel and just have to purchase it without knowing what it will turn into. But isn’t that what food shopping is about? It is for me, I don’t have a weekly list of meals but rather am governed by what catches my eye….sometimes it sits in the fridge a while too though!

This time it was the new petite variety of pear which is green with a blush of red, I was so excited about them I didn’t even notice what they are called. I fell in love, and had to have them there and then. Let’s face my compulsive purchases are a lot cheaper than a pair of Jimmy Choos! I thought the pears would look fabulous photographed, of course I didn’t think about them turning brown once cooked…duh! But even a brown pear can look pretty don’t you think?

Ingredients

  • 6 small ripe pears
  • 50g pistachio nuts
  • 2 tbsp Manuka honey
  • 5 cardamom seeds
  • 1 tsp orange blossom
  • Greek yoghurt to serve

Method

  • Pre heat oven 180C
  • Slice a small piece of the bottom of each pear so they stand up straight.
  • Place upright on a non stick baking tray and baked for 15-20 minutes. You don’t want them too soft so they still hold their form.
  • Place the honey, cardomom and orange blossom in pan and bring to the boil for one minute.
  • Rough chop the pistachio nuts and place on another baking tray and place in the oven for 2 minutes, remove from the oven and add to the honey mixture.
  • Cut the pears in half and arrange on a platter or individual plates and drizzle with the honey mixture.
  • Serve with Greek yoghurt. The pears can be served warm or chilled.
9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Makes me want to rush off the boat and buy the ingredients

    February 4, 2011
  2. mairi29 #

    Sounds fragrant and exotic. Cardamom & orange blossom sound like a wonderful combination.

    February 5, 2011
  3. Well done – I think they look great. Maybe you should be claiming they are caramelised, or golden? Nice recipe, I love cardamom.

    February 5, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Good idea, I really need a marketing expert to dolly up the wording ;0)

      February 8, 2011
  4. I think I could eat this all day long, because I love such delicious looking things🙂

    February 7, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks, I had something else in mind when I bought them but was really happy how the photo turned out, good not to be too structed i suppose with food in case things don’t go to plan!

      February 9, 2011
  5. This looks so delicious. Great post! We’d love for you to share this recipe with us over at dishfolio.com!

    February 7, 2011
  6. Oh yes, I’m totally a compulsive food shopper! I always try to be disciplined and go out with a list, but I never manage to stick to it – I always get sidetracked by some treasure I’ve found🙂

    I love these baked pears – especially with that fantastic combination of ingredients – I totally have to try this.

    Sue🙂

    February 8, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Yes, I think my blog has become an excuse for buying kitchen gadgets, crockery and linen too!

      February 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

