Skip to content

Feed Giraffes at The Farm

I cooked, ate, photographed and blogged this weekend like any other weekend but but it all paled into significance when I found myself hand feeding giraffes on Sunday.

It was quite unexpected, we were visiting Alan Gibb’s Farm and Sculpture Park overlooking the Kaipara Harbour which is also home to a selection of wild animals. The Farm and the sculptures were pretty spectacular but being the animal loving person I am the highlight of the day for me was certainly being up close to the giraffes and being handed a branch to feed them. I could not believe how gentle they were tearing off leaves from the branch with their tongues, selecting only the leaves and leaving branch behind. It was one of those memorable events (like surfing with dolphins), an experience you never forget and I think you can tell by my the silly grin I had on my face too!

One Comment Post a comment
  1. AWESOME!

    February 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

