Skip to content

Green Tea Pudding & Poached Rhubarb

After a trip to Japan two years ago I was very inspired to create desserts with green tea powder after sampling green tea Tiramisu and green tea ice cream. Upon my return I had been talking to a very good friend of mine about this and she kindly gave me a tin of the green tea powder. It has taken me a while to make anything and I wish my friend who gave me the powder lived a bit closer so she could sample what I have made. It’s quite an unusual flavour for the uninitiated and therefore I suggest going easy on the tea powder when first experimenting.

The original recipe was in a Woman’s Weekly book of Japanese recipes.

Ingredients

  • 2.5 cup single cream (or milk for light variety)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp green powder
  • 1 tsp agar agar powder
  • seeds from 1 vanilla pod or 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 stalks of rhubarb
  • 1 tbsp sugar

Method

  • Mix together the cream, vanilla and sugar and place in a heavy bottom pan over a low heat.
  • Mix the green tea powder with a tablespoon of water to a smooth paste then add to the cream in the pan.
  • Combine the agar powder with a 3 tablespoons of water to a smooth paste and add to the cream.
  • Gently heat the mixture stirring constantly so the cream doesn’t stick on the bottom of the pan. Once the liquid is just below boiling, continue to simmer for 2 minutes while stirring so the agar dissolves completely.
  • Remove from the heat and strain through ha colander then divide between 6 ramekin size dishes and place in the fridge to set.
  • Wash and cut he rhubarb down to 1.5 inch pieces. Place the wet rhubarb in a wide pan so each piece touches the bottom of the pan (there should be enough water from washing the rhubarb to cook the fruit).
  • Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of sugar over the rhubarb and place pan over a very low heat with a lid on pan.
  • The rhubarb should only take about 2 minutes to cook once the temperature in the pan has become hot. Keep checking, you don’t want it to boil and the rhubarb loose it’s shape.
  • Allow rhubarb to cool then spoon onto the cool puddings and serve.
  • Note: Quanties of agar agar I have specified to the brand I use. I recommend you go by the ratio liquid to agar that is stated on your packet and if is gives an estimate 1/2 – 1 tsp to a cup go with whatever the lower ration is. The pudding should set set but not as much a jelly.
11 Comments Post a comment
  1. ooh I love green tea ice cream so I’m sure this would be delicious. I can’t say I ever would have thought to combine green tea and rhubarb but heck, why not? Love the pink and green contrast🙂

    February 21, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Yes, I’m keen to make green tea ice a cream too. The tart sweet sweet fruit was a good contrast to the slightly bitter tea.

      February 22, 2011
  2. This picture is just gorgeous! I have rhubarb envy.

    February 21, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Sasa, hope you can get hold of some when in season over there.

      February 22, 2011
  3. My rhubarb is ready, but I have been too lazy to do anything with it… I feel for Sasa, if she reads this she would probably think that I am inconsiderate leaving it to rot in the garden!!!

    Better take action!

    I love green tea, but funny enough not so much in desserts. I like the fact that you used agar agar, I only use agar agar (not jelly) because I am vegetarian. I also think that it is more suited to Asian desserts🙂

    ciao
    A.

    February 23, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I suppose the good thing with rhubarb is that it last for ages growing in the garden. I’d have it all frozen for winter to put on my porridge but I think your garden probably produces too much to keep freezing! I love the agar agar and never use the animal derivative gelatin it has such an aweful taste for desserts.

      February 24, 2011
  4. Yum. Looks nice, interesting combination. I just bought my first rhubarb of the year – bright pink!

    February 23, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      It’s so British isn’t it? My poor rhubarb doesn’t do well here so I am thankful for whatever the plant produces!

      February 24, 2011
  5. I love the freshness of your green tea pudding. Now I can hardly wait for the rhubarb season to begin to add those beautiful jewels to it!

    February 25, 2011
  6. This looks so delicious! I’ll definitely try this recipe out soon.

    March 1, 2011
  7. Wow, I love this idea. Green tea dessert is great and would be lovely with rhubarb. Now I can’t wait for my rhubarb to come up.

    March 25, 2011

Leave a Reply

