Skip to content

Tomato Chili Lime Marmalade

I wasn’t sure whether to call this a marmalade or a relish, I think really it would be a relish because of the tomatoes but the tang of the lime rind really gives it that marmalade edge. So what do you use such a marmalade relish for? Well we have eaten it on toast, with cheese and I have even dipped my fish & chips into it! You could use it to spice up grilled fish or chicken, adding it to the dish before serving or you could just offer it as an extra condiment at the table. it would even make a great condiment for curries but you may want to add a little more chili as this recipe is fairly mild (depending on your chili variety of course). I would suggest starting with 3 chillies and let it cook down a bit and then if it isn’t hot enough you can add more and finish cooking.

Ingredients
400g ripe tomatoes, chopped small
200g sugar
2 limes, thinly sliced
3 hot small chilies, finely chopped
1 cup on finely chopped mango or pineapple
3 x 200ml sterilised jars

Method
Place all the ingredients in a non reactive heavy based pan over a low heat until the sugar has dissolved.
Turn the heat up so the contents of the pan gently bubble, stirring every couple of minutes.
After 10 minutes test for ‘heat’ and add more chili if required.
The marmalade will reduce by half and become thicker (approx 30-40 minutes).
Once it has reduced by half pour into sterilised jars and seal with lid.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Maybe relish? I unserstand what you say about marmalade, the ‘shiny’ colour and the fact that there are limes makes me think of marmalade… but maybe if you would use it for savoury dishes relish would be more appropriate? Anyway, your creations, your call!!! That is the beauty of blogging🙂.

    btw, it looks delish!!!!

    ciao

    Alessandra

    May 1, 2011
  2. This reminds me of my favourite pineapple sambal I usually have at home, only we don’t use much tomatoes but red chilies and bird chilies (of course!). We use under ripen pineapple or mangoes for it. Eaten with fragrant warm rice, fried fish or chicken, and steamed greens. Oh my!

    May 1, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      mmm, that sounds like a god use for my relish.

      May 4, 2011
  3. Looks great whatever you call it. Wonderful photo!

    May 3, 2011
  4. Yum this sounds so good. I have so many jars of relishes, pickles and marmalades at home…but none are home-made. Shame on me. Your recipe looks so easy, and has inspired me to give it a go.

    May 4, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      that’s the beauty of this, it is so easy. I’m never keen on relishes that require peeling, skinning etc as it is too time consuming.

      May 4, 2011
  5. Moreish! Thinking with cheese or perhaps with salmon for dinner tonight…lucky to have that jar beckoning from the pantry🙂

    May 9, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I hope you enjoy it, was the last jar and everyone is shouting for more.

      May 9, 2011
  6. That gorgeous colour! I like the idea of using the last of the mangoes…but pineapple would give more tang. Hmmmm. Sounds extremely delicious either way🙂

    May 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

