Skip to content

Whole Balsamic Garlic Clove & Goats Cheese Tart

20110601-122416.jpg

As I fly off to France for a week in the Perigord Region (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Périgord) I will leave you with a summer tart of roasted garlic and goats cheese, a few of the flavours I associate with France even though the original recipe comes from Ottolenghi in London.

I love this region of France, not surprising really since it is noted for its cuisine, more particularly its products relating to ducks and geese such as foie gras as well as it being one of the truffle areas of France. We will be staying in a small chateau just outside Brantome with family and friends, funnily renting a chateau is the most economical way to stay in this region and of course the most novel.

Not only is Perigord great for cuisine, it is also steeped in history, from prehistoric cave painting sites to Roman ruins and of course hundreds of castles perched on hillsides and along the meandering rivers which I hope to show you once we return.

Ingredients
300g short crust pastry
100g goats feta cheese
3 bulbs garlic
Handful thyme
Handful rosemary
100ml creme fresh
100ml single cream
2 free range eggs
1tsp sugar
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
Salt & black pepper to season

Method
Pre heat oven to 170C and grease and flour a 22cm looses bottom tart tin.
Roll pastry out thinly to fit tart tin and cut off excess pastry.
Cover pastry case with a sheet of greaseproof paper and then fill with baking beans (use any dried beans).
Bake pastry case for 15 minutes and then remove beans and paper and bake for a further 10 minutes and remove from the oven.
Place garlic bulbs on a tray and bake for 15 minutes or until soft but not shrunken.
Separate and peel the cloves once cool.
Place cloves in a frying pan with a tablespoon of oil over a low heat and sauté for a few minutes.
Add the sugar, balsamic and herbs and stir through the cloves of garlic until the balsamic has been absorbed.
Crumble the feta cheese over the base of the tart case and distribute the garlic cloves and herbs over also.
Whisk together the eggs, cream and creme fresh and season lightly with salt and pepper.
Pour the egg mixture into the tart case.
Bake the tart for 25 minutes or until the egg is slightly puffed, set and golden.
Serve warm or cold.

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Potent!!! Yum!! and so French🙂. But I am curios about the addition of balsamic vinegar, I am trying to imagine the flavours but I cannot. Definitely a ‘need to try before making’ to make sure I would get it right!

    June 3, 2011
  2. Looks & sounds sublime Alli! Bon voyage!

    June 4, 2011
  3. I want this now. I am saving to make so soon- love everything about it!

    June 4, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I hope you enjoy the tart when you get to make it, I am looking forward to making it again sson.

      June 12, 2011
  4. Bev #

    Looks delectable!

    June 11, 2011
  5. Ohhh sounds so decadent! Will have to try it soon, just bought a kilo of garlic and have everything else on hand…can’t wait.

    June 12, 2011
  6. So you’re off to the Perigord – envy, envy. I managed to spend a week there in 2006, staying near Sarlat at a very french B and B, I absolutely loved it – particularly, of course, the food. I ate duck till I looked like one… I have just accepted your kind invitation, posted on my blog weeks ago, to join the NZ Food Bloggers Association – I’d meant to do it straight away, but must have forgotten. So thank you!

    June 13, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      The area around Perigord is beautiful and I totally understand you eating lots of duck, we too had our fair share while there.

      June 20, 2011
  7. Looks creamy, rich and just plain delicious!

    July 6, 2011
  8. This looks fabulous! What a pefect combination!

    July 6, 2011
  9. Wow this looks amazing! I love ALL of the ingredients!

    July 7, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      The roasted garlic is quite addictive in this tart, I have made it several times already!

      July 8, 2011
  10. wow this looks and sounds amazing ! definitely going to give it a try…also, putting a link up on my blogs for your space here…take care xx

    July 7, 2011
  11. Irresistable sounding tart, all my favourite flavours in one. Enjoy your trip and congrats on front page of Foodpress!

    July 7, 2011
  12. This looks like it would make a very nice and hearty lunch! I would love to try this recipe out.

    July 7, 2011
  13. Goats cheese goes so well in tarts. I made some little goats cheese and thyme tartlets a while back, might do them again and blog them!

    July 7, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Yes do post them, any tart with goats cheese has to be delicious.

      July 8, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin & coconut soup « Two Spoons
  2. 8 Great Garlic Recipes | taste station blog

Leave a Reply

