Skip to content

Sticky Walnut & Coffee Scrolls

20110720-100243.jpg

This is a a twist on Chelsea buns or fruit buns but with a kick of coffee to get you started in the morning and a sweet hit of green walnut confiture (jam) which I brought back in my suitcase from France last month. If you can’t get hold of the walnut confiture I have offered an alternative with a mix of whizzed walnuts, sugar and butter which is a similar method to making Chelsea buns. I have used fresh espresso coffee grind as I am quite fond of those chocolate covered coffee beans and don’t mind the crunch of the bean. I suppose you could substitute it for coffee essence or instant coffee blended into the confiture but neither of those ingredients would be found in my pantry, we are coffee snobs you see and only do ‘the real stuff’.

Ingredients – makes 12

  • 3.25 oz sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2.75 oz butter, soft
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 16 oz bread flour
  • 2 tsp yeast
  • 1 cup warm milk
  • 2 tsp espresso coffee grind
  • 2 tbsp walnut confiture (or 70g walnuts, 50 butter, 50g sugar whizzed together)
  • 1tsp sugar for glaze & 2 tbsp water

    Method

  • Heat oven to 180C and line a baking sheet with parchment.
  • beat sugar and butter together.
  • Add egg and vanilla extract.
  • Add the flour, yeast and milk and bring together to form a tacky but not wet bread like dough.
  • Knead dough for 10 minutes and then allow to rest in a warm place till double in size.
  • Roll the dough out into a rectangle about 2/3 inch thick, 14 inches by 12 inches.
  • Spread the walnut confiture over the dough then sprinkle evenly with coffee grind. or evenly
  • spread the butter, walnut and sugar mix if using this method and then sprinkle with coffee grind.

  • With seam side down slice the dough into 1 inch thick buns and place 1/2 apart on the baking tray.
  • Lightly spray with oil and cover with a clean plastic bag.
  • Allow to prove till double in size and the buns are now touching each other.
  • Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown
  • Mix sugar and water for glaze in a small pan and bring to the boil. Glaze buns while still warm.
  • 8 Comments Post a comment
    1. Absolutely gorgeous … I love these Alli! Mmmmm….

      July 21, 2011
    2. mmm these look far too yummy! I would definitely eat more of these lovelies than is healthy🙂 gorgeous recipe!

      July 21, 2011
    3. Yum, these look so sweet! Love your photo. I love those crunchy little chocolate covered coffee beans too – and I don’t even drink coffee! Delicious.

      July 21, 2011
    4. These look so pretty! And the filling sounds delicious.

      July 21, 2011
    5. Beautiful photo🙂. I can say that this would be perfect for my breakfast, and good on you for using proper ground coffee… coffee essence I wouldn’t go near it, (why when you can use espresso???) and instant coffee… not for me🙂.

      Ciao
      A.

      July 22, 2011
    6. Oh Alli they look amazing! Perfect with a cuppa.🙂

      July 22, 2011
    7. These look beautiful. I like the idea of using fresh ground coffee – not something I would’ve thought of, but I love those chocolate-covered coffee beans too, so I bet I’d like these, straight out of the oven, with a pot of tea, curled up in some blankets (me not the buns)…🙂

      July 22, 2011
    8. I am so happy to find your blog!. I thought I was one of the only lonesome NZ food blogs. This would definitly be my type of travel shopping – a food ingredient walnut confiture. Love it. Straight after my own heart. Scrolls look great and could imagine how good these would taste with my morning cappy!.

      July 23, 2011

    Leave a Reply

