Skip to content

Braised Five Spice Lentils with Duck & Porcini Sausages

20110724-035004.jpg

Duck & Porcini sausages, as soon as I saw them on Rubys List which is an online butcher in New Zealand, I just had to try them. Ruby’s List offers only meat that has been pasture raised or free-farmed, as they say ” meat sourced from cows, pigs, lamb, deer and poultry that have led good lives in clean, open air. The sausages were like non I had tried before, rich and meaty with a defined Porcini taste. If Ruby’s List takes their time to source good ethically grown produce I knew I wanted to spend time and effort on the dish I would put together. Having been in France recently I had the idea of a traditional lentil meat stew but I have also influenced having eating at Cafe Hanoi and their five spice also came to mind. So that is how I ended up with this dish. Something traditional with a few exotic ingredients.

Ingredients – serves 4 with mash or polenta
1 cup brown lentils
2 cups chicken stock
1 small onions
1 inch fresh ginger
2 cloves garlic
1tsp five spice
1tsp course ground black pepper
1tsp pomegranate molasses
1/4 cup red wine
Handful chopped coriander to garnish
8 Rubys List Duck & Porcini sausages (or any game style sausages)
10 cloves of roasted garlic (optional)

Method

To roast the garlic, place whole bulbs in the oven on 180C for 15 minutes. Remove and once cold peel off the skin carefully to keep cloves in tack. I often throw a few bulbs of garlic in the oven when it is on to use later in other dishes, it keeps well in the fridge for a week.

Place the onion, garlic, ginger, five spice a glug of olive oil in a blender and blend to a paste.

Fry the paste in a little olive oil for a few minutes, stirring all the time.

Add the wine and simmer for a few minutes then add the stock, roasted garlic and lentils and cook over a low heat for 25-30 minutes until the lentils are soft.

Fry the sausage in a separate frying until brown all the way round then add them to the lentils.

Add the molasses and coriander and cook on a low heat, with a lid on the pan to retain the moisture for a further 10 minutes. If the lentils go dry add some water so there is always a sauce.

Serve with polenta or mash.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. wow, duck & porcini sausages sound delicious. I love a good sausage & lentil dish, the exotic flavours you’ve added in sound intriguing. I’ll have to remember those additions next time I make something like this!

    July 30, 2011
  2. Alli #

    Sounds amazing! Getting ingredients this week to try this out🙂

    July 30, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Hope you enjoy it, let me know what you think once you have made it.

      July 30, 2011
  3. Oh my those sausages sound amazing. Lentils, spices & pomegranate molasses & then fresh green hit from the coriander sounds wonderful. Definitely going to check out that butcher, thanks for the link.

    August 1, 2011
  4. Yum, this looks great! I really love lentils with sausages – I saw another dish on plum kitchen recently and was reminded how well they go together. Duck and porcini too, delicious!

    August 3, 2011
  5. Alli #

    It was SOOOO good that I had to re-find this website & come back to say thankyou! We’re a pretty plain cooking NZ family usually, so this was RIGHT outside the square for me, but oh my goodness!
    I left out the molasses, and substituted chorizo for duck sausages (ptnrs allergic to duck), and it was still: incredible.
    Thank you so much for posting something so delicious, and yet so simple to make. I’ve bookmarked this site now – and I see a very tempting broadbean soup that I must try…. 🙂

    August 8, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I’m glad you liked it, it’s so nice to have feedback about a recipe. The chorizo sausages would have made a good replacement and you could always used a zest of a lemon or orange instead of the pomegranate molasses.

      August 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

