Skip to content

Baked Apples Stuffed with Almond, Raisins & Chocolate

20110811-025512.jpg

Winter comfort puddings that’s how I think of baked apples, always something we had as children but they certainly would have been a little more sparse than these with their chocolate and cognac centre. In fact I don’t think I have eaten them since childhood, probably one of those ‘economical’ desserts you really don’t appreciate until you have the choice rather than it being the only option. I’m sure if my parents had snook some chocolate into them they would have been more popular but I don’t recall chocolate being a regular on our menu. I’m sure that is why my siblings and I have all become chocoholics, treats were rationed to pocket money, something like 10 pence (20 cents) once a week which we duly blew on sweets.

It is a nice hearty winter dessert though, you can fill them with whatever you have I the pantry, for me though they are best served with homemade custard/ creme anglaise.

Ingredients
8 medium Royal Gala apples, de-cored and scored around middle
150g ground almonds
1 tsp powdered cinnamon
50g brown sugar
150g raisins
1tbsp butter
40g dark chocolate, finely chopped
2tbsp cognac (optional)
1 cup apple juice, for basting

Method
Preheat oven to 190C/375F/Gas 5.
Mix the brown sugar, ground almonds, cinnamon, raisins, chocolate and butter together and spoon it into the cavities of the apples.
Place the apples on on a roasting tray and pour apple juice around them.
Dot the tops of each apple with butter and place in the oven to bake for 45 minutes.
Every 10 minutes spoon apple juice from the roasting tray over the apples.
Once cooked serve hot with custard, cream or idea cream.

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. such a beautiful simple dessert. it reminds me of the baked apples my grand-mother used to make. always sitting on top of a biscotte to catch the juices. x

    August 11, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Yum, I like the idea of the biscotti to catch the juices

      August 12, 2011
  2. I love the photo and the recipe makes me feel nostalgic !

    August 12, 2011
  3. Looks yum and still so red after baking! Beautiful photo!

    Ciao
    A.

    August 12, 2011
  4. I so love this one, simple yet a great dessert!

    August 13, 2011
  5. The chocolate is a definite bonus edition! Love it and I love your bowl & jug set too, naturally beautiful!

    August 13, 2011
  6. Those look wonderful. I can’t get over how pretty that picture is!

    August 13, 2011
  7. How beautiful! Love the gorgeous photo, the apple looks so pretty! And sounds so delicious.

    August 13, 2011
  8. Love the new look🙂 That is the cutest little apple in the photo. This certainly elevates the humble baked apple to a whole new level…lovely🙂

    August 13, 2011
  9. Simple and delcious – I can’t wait to make this. I have only just bought myself an apple corer, I think I will need one to core the apple nicely. This apple idea has been on my mind to make so thanks for sharing. My childhood deserts were usually sponge/pastry based, something with lots of butter!. I went through a child hood baby fat stage which I am sure was due to all those comfort puddings.

    August 14, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I have to confess I bought a corer for the very same thing, couldn’t face an ugly hacked put centre :0)

      August 16, 2011
  10. My brother’s just walked in the door with a crappy McDonalds hot apple pie & a plain ice cream sundae, & is proceeding to marry the two in a small bowl. Recipes like yours are essential, bringing light to dark places, such as my brother’s palate. Very yum, Alli!

    August 15, 2011
  11. The kids and I love baked apple, I can only imagine how happy they would be if I too snuck some chocolate into them😉 Stunning photo Alli.

    August 15, 2011
  12. When I was a terribly poor student saving for a semester overseas I used to eat baked apples for dessert all the time, filled with walnuts and brown sugar and butter and raisins (all things I could buy on the flat card as “baking supplies” – we had a veeeery baking-friendly flat). I must’ve had one too many because I haven’t had one since. These sound so decadent with the chocolate and cognac and homemade custard – I may have to go back and make one before winter’s up!

    August 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

