Skip to content

Breakfast at Queenies & Crumpets with Lemon Curd & Mascapone

20110816-103010.jpg

I had breakfast at Queenies Lunchroom in Freemans Bay last week with Sasa, Sasasunakku and Sue, Couscous & Consciousness, it was to be a brain storming session for the conference in November but also turned out to be a bit of a farewell breakfast with Sue since she has decided to move to Nelson. Sue and her partner have been our neighbours for the past few months, literally next door and we will miss having them around but look forward to visiting them in Nelson particularly since I have never been before.

Queenies is a funky little cafe with a colourful mural painting covering one wall. They have a small but varied menu but it was the crumpets served with lemon curd, Mascapone and blueberries that caught my eye. And they were perfect, so much so I had to make my own lemon curd this week just so I could recreate the experience. It’s a nice decadent breakfast but a quick one to put together if you have your own lemon curd already or pick up a store bought one. I didn’t use blueberries as they aren’t in season but once berries are back I will be eating it again with berries.

No recipe for it as you see it but here is a Lemon Curd recipe if you want one.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow that lemon sauce looks so delicious, add mascarpone to it becomes heavenly.

    August 16, 2011
  2. Your photos get more & more lovely:) Yum, that looks like my kind of breakfast (no cereal, whooo!) x

    August 16, 2011
  3. Funny but I can only eat crumpets with butter or marg.!

    Glad about the brain storming session on the NZ blogger conference🙂

    Ciao
    A.

    August 17, 2011
  4. I really enjoyed Queenies when I was there for lunch on the weekend, too many things to choose from but crumpets with lemon curd would’ve been great, too. In fact I’ll have to try doing this soon… I love lemon curd!

    (Can’t wait for NZFBC by the way)

    August 18, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Yes, the NZFBC is getting closer, hope lots can get to it, it will be exciting meeting everyone

      August 18, 2011
  5. Twas a good brainstorming session!

    August 22, 2011

Leave a Reply

