Skip to content

Cheese & Bacon Scones with Homemade Piccalilli

20111130-102422.jpg

What better way to end the weekend with a lazy rainy Sunday morning tea and a plate of cheese and bacon scones and homemade piccalilli. Of course the piccalilli was made several weeks in advance to allow the flavours to mature but the scones were enjoyed fresh from the oven. Piccalilli in the store doesn’t taste the same as how I remember it as a child, the colours are too bright and the flavours seem too sweet, I prefer the sharp bite of vinegar and the heat from mustard seeds, peppercorns and chili peppers. Moving into summer I love to have lots of pickles and condiments as part of ‘snacking platter’ which are easy to throw together when guests pop in so this year I have decided to start making my own. Since I have not made it before I was a little conservative on the quantities and only made four small jar and already we are down to two so I may have to get another batch on soon.

I turned to traditional English recipes for the BBC, taking ideas from a few and modified them a little to suit my taste. I really only wanted cauliflower and gherkins in mine but you gan use a range of vegetables as done here and here.

Ingredients – makes 8 scones
200g self raising flour
80g butter
pinch of salt
4 rashers of streaky bacon, thinly sliced
100g grated cheddar cheese
150ml of milk
1 tblsp Dijon mustard

Method
Preheat oven to 180 degrees centigrade.
Fry bacon till brown.
whisk the mustard into the milk.
Place flour, butter and salt into a bowl.
Rub butter and flour together until the mixture resembles fine bread crumbs.
Add the grated cheese & bacon and mix through.
Form a well in the centre of bread crumb mix and add the milk kneed gently to form a soft dough.
Transfer dough onto a floured board and press the dough out with hands (rather than using a rolling pin) until it is about 2cm thick.
Either use a round cookie cutter to cut out the scones or slice the scones into squares.
Place on a floured baking sheet and brush tops of scones with a little egg wash.
Bake for 20 minutes until risen and golden brown, they will sound hollow like bread when tapped on the base if cooked through correctly.

Ingredients – Picalilli
For the wet brine
100g salt 1 litre cold water
1 small cauliflower into florets
150g gherkins
For the spiced vinegar
300ml pint malt vinegar
1 tbsp mixed pickling spices
1 fresh chilli
For the sauce
25g plain flour
1tbsp grain mustard
1⁄2 tbsp turmeric
1/2 tbsp mustard seeds
1 tsp ground ginger
3 tbsp malt vinegar

Method
To make the wet brine – mix the salt with cold water in a large mixing bowl, allow plenty of space for the vegetables.
To make the vegetables – prepare the vegetables by cutting them into 1⁄2 inch pieces or even smaller. Make sure they are as regular in shape as possible.
Put into the wet brine and leave for 24 hours. Place a plate on top of the vegetables to make sure they are kept well under the liquid.
For the spiced vinegar – put the vinegar and spices into an aluminium or stainless steel saucepan, bring just to boiling point, lower the heat, cover the pan and simmer gently for 10-15 minutes; allow to cool. There will be less than 600ml/1 pint of vinegar but this will be correct for the sauce.
For the sauce – blend the flour, mustard powder, turmeric and ginger in a good sized basin, add the three tablespoons vinegar, stir to make a smooth paste. Gradually strain the spiced vinegar over the ingredients, make sure the mixture is smooth.

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. I agree about picalilli tasting different now, I am glad of this recipe so I can make some more.. i love the stuff. and I love scones. We eat them often and my recipe is very simple just like yours.. lovely post.. c

    December 3, 2011
  2. Oh these would be so great with chili or the ribs I had yesterday. They look awesome.

    December 3, 2011
  3. Oh I agree the stuff from the supermarket looks like nuclear waste! I haven’t made any for a long time, but someone has been nagging me to for a while. We prefer simple gherkins and cauli too, beans and other vegetables somehow seem so wrong.

    December 3, 2011
  4. Perfect looking scones….I do love a good scone, especially laden with cheese & bacon. Warm out the oven with butter not much better on a rainy Sunday afternoon🙂

    December 3, 2011
  5. Lovely photo – scones look perfect. I was lucky to get some homemade piccalilli last Christmas – love it on cheese rolls – yum – so must try this. Hope you enjoyed your trip.

    December 3, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Lesley, it was a busy work trip but always nice to enjoy the warmer weather there!

      December 4, 2011
  6. Mmmm warm scones, how delish, mine never seem to turn out so well so will try these, have not had piccalilli for years, want some….now!

    December 3, 2011
  7. The scones and piccalilli will certainly curb my savory addiction. There is nothing better than a HOT savory scone dripping with butter…
    I will be bookmarking this recipe!
    Vanessa

    December 3, 2011
  8. Yum! These look delicious. I have never made scones before but this recipe definitely makes me want to try.

    December 4, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      And they are so easy and quick to make, you can have them sweet or savoury.

      December 4, 2011
  9. Shirley #

    OOh they look delicious! might have to give those a go and make some picallilli!

    December 4, 2011
  10. I love savoury scones, they make such a great morning or afternoon tea. And I also love having all the relishes and condiments over Christmas & summer, your picalilli looks beautiful!

    December 4, 2011
  11. I still can’t quite believe that I have never made a scone…. I do love them however, the old fashioned way, with jam and the creamiest butter…. Savoury versions like these are very very good too… I am going to bookmark this!

    December 5, 2011
  12. I’ve never made or had a scone but I would gobble up these. Great job!

    December 5, 2011
  13. Oh, marvelous and absolutely irresistible! The kind of savory treat I could eat every day.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    December 6, 2011
  14. Oh that piccalilli has my name all over it – I have to try it. I love that you only used cauliflower and gherkins. Hopefully I will be more successful with that than I would be with the scones – somehow I have never yet managed to make a scone that didn’t resemble a brick!
    Sue xo

    December 6, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something

Leave a Reply

