Skip to content

Tomato & Cumin Relish, Tangelo & Date Chutney, Parsley Coriander Tahini Pesto

20111229-185352.jpg

‘Twas the days after Christmas and all that was stirring was a few sad looking vegetables in the fridge, the tomatoes were soft, the tangelos (oranges) looking old and a wrinkly aubergine or two but a garden lush with herbs. It would be a shame to waste them and with time on my hands in between surfing, the conditions have been very favorable this Christmas, I put a few pots on the stove to make some relishes, chutneys and a pesto. The pesto is dairy free, to replace the creamy texture cheese offers I have used tahini and sesame oil. The aubergine spread with mint and coriander I did not get to photograph so will save that for another day.

Not that these will sustain us as vegetables for the next few days, I will have to venture away from the beach at some point but maybe I can count Christmas cake as my five fruit and veg a day :0)

Tomato Cumin Relish Ingredients
1kg tomatoes
1 tbsp cumin seeds
6 cardamom pods
½ tbsp mustard seeds
60ml vegetable oil
3 cloves garlic
1 tbsp grated ginger
4 small chillies
1 tsp turmeric powder
60ml vinegar (white or cider)
2 tbsp brown sugar

Method
Place cumin & cardamon in a sauce pan and dry fry them for a few minutes.
Remove from the pan and grind.
Add oil to the pan and heat, when hot add the mustard seeds and cook for a few minutes.
Add the rest of the spices to the pan and cook for a few more minutes.
Add the tomatoes, sugar and vinegar and bring to the boil then turn heat down and simmer for about 45 minutes.
As the liquid starts to reduce down towards the end of the cooking, stir frequently to avoid sticking on the bottom of the pan.
Pour into sterilized jars and seal.

20111229-191340.jpg

Dairy Free Parsley Coriander Tahini Pesto Ingredients
Large bunch parsley
Bunch coriander
1tbsp tahini paste
1tbsp sesame oil
50g walnuts
1 clove garlic
3 tbsp olive oil
Salt to season

Method
Add all ingredients to a food processor and blend.
Slowly add the oil to a smooth paste.
Season with salt to taste

20111229-191557.jpg

Tangelo & Date Chutney Ingredients
3 Tangelos/oranges
1 1/2 cup dried dates
1 1/2 cup cider vinegar
1tbsp tamarind purée
1tbsp mustard seeds
1 tsp turmeric powder
1tbsp freshly grated ginger root
3 birds eye chilies
1/4 cup sugar
1 cup water

Method
Add all the ingredients to a heavy based pan over a medium heat. Cover with a lid.
Simmer for an hour stirring occasionally to break up the dates.
If it starts to get to dry add more water.
Pour into sterilized jars and seal.

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. The relish, chutney and pesto are amazing! I love those condiments…

    Best wishes fro 2012!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    December 28, 2011
  2. What a wonderful assortment!

    December 29, 2011
  3. They all sound fabulous! I’ve been making red onion maramalade today, trying to clear out the fridge too!!

    December 29, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I look forward to that recipe too

      December 29, 2011
  4. I love them all! Certainly a day for the kitchen today….to bake or preserve that is the question!

    December 29, 2011
  5. Ok YEAH!!! and Surfing!? Where do you live? I bet you know some people I do! You are a surfer! No wonder you are a NZer now! c

    December 29, 2011
    • Oops sorry, well done for editing, i got quite carried away then didn’t I! Happy New Years Day! c

      December 31, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        No worries as they say here, I though I would skip a word just in case the Royals drop by my blog ;0)

        December 31, 2011
  6. They all sound fabulous, so good for snacking on at this time of year. I have beetroot to clear out of my fridge, baking and preserving is definitely on the agenda today with all this rain.. P.S I spy the GU ramekin ;oP

    December 29, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      The ramekins have become part of the furniture now, I had to look to see if that is what I had used ;0)

      December 29, 2011
  7. Ooh, all these spreads look so good! Your photos are so bright and clear, too. I love the way you’ve styled these.🙂

    December 30, 2011
  8. These all look fantastic…love the spices used in your relish, delicious!
    Happy New Year🙂

    December 30, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      And they go perfec with left over ham and turkey!

      December 30, 2011
  9. Such great trio of recipes, I must try the Parsley Coriander Tahini Pesto for sure.

    December 30, 2011
  10. I love the look of all three, but especially the pesto – tahini and sesame oil, yes!!! I bet they’d go great with the coriander. Hope you had a lovely Christmas, and happy New Year!

    December 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

