Skip to content

Quick Apricot Tart

20120229-212901.jpg

I’d like to take advantage of the apricots before they start to disappear as we come to a close of the stonefruit season but the the days are whizzing by. Smoothies and quick fruit tarts seem to be the extent of my sweet treats in the past few weeks. It’s been a crazy start to the year, in a good, way with the school being booked up with many groups and full classes but I don’t have the brain space when teaching to think about photography the food we are creating. Might have to recruit someone to capture a few moments at some upcoming classes to share with.

So here is very easy quick apricot tart for those who want a treat but don’t have much time to cook or don’t want to indulge in cooking.

Ingredients-enough for 4
1 sheet of ready rolled puff pastry ( approx 24cm x 24cm)
8 apricots, halved and de-stoned
2 tbsp of ground almonds or hazelnuts
3 tbsp brown sugar

Method
Place sheet of puff pastry on a greaseproof baking sheet.
Sprinkle the ground nuts across the whole sheet of pastry.
Lay the apricots across the puff pastry, 4 across and four down (photo shows 1/4 of tart).
Sprinkle the brown sugar over the apricot halves.
Bake in for 30 minutes or until pastry is puffed and golden.
Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. I agree this is easy! I might be doing this tomorrow

    February 29, 2012
  2. I adore apricots and they are such a rare treatg here, its not a fruit we find very often but will keep an eye out in the summer!

    February 29, 2012
  3. Quick and so delightful! I’d love to have one of those for dessert.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    February 29, 2012
  4. This looks so good! and yum! not to mention easy! and serving it with a scoop of ice cream gives it so much pizzazz!

    February 29, 2012
  5. I can’t remember the last time I had an apricot – having seen your post I want one and I’ll have to wait quite a while…😉

    February 29, 2012
  6. Wow, just gorgeous!

    February 29, 2012
  7. look so yummy and super easy.. will try soon!:)
    thanks for the sharing.😀

    March 1, 2012
  8. Yes easy, in fact I do it often with stone fruit (especially plums) and also with apples and pears🙂.

    Ciao
    Alessandra

    March 1, 2012
  9. Beautiful photo and I love apricots!

    March 3, 2012
  10. So quick and easy, I wish I’d seen this last night. Cooked a roast dinner (minus the meat obviously) and was craving something sweet and uncomplicated for dessert. I could have made an apple version. Instead I had handful of medjool dates…… not the same!!!

    March 5, 2012
  11. I know what you mean about the days just whizzing by! There are so many summer fruits and vegetables I’ve wanted to cook with and blog. But now we are already into Autumn!? Lovely apricot tarts, I like fresh apricots, but LOVE them cooked!

    March 6, 2012
  12. Yummy! Boy, that looks amazing.

    March 10, 2012
  13. What a delightful tart…quick and delicious…2 of my favorite things🙂

    March 11, 2012
  14. Such a busy year & it is March already! Love a quick little tart especially when topped with a scoop of ice cream🙂

    March 11, 2012
  15. bavariansojourn #

    Just to let you know, you are featured over at BritMum’s in May’s Foodie Round-up! 🙂

    http://www.britmumsblog.com/2012/05/foodie-round-up-asparagus-and-pea-frittata-lacquered-pork-and-a-scots-larder/

    May 10, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something

Leave a Reply

