Skip to content

Chocolate Mocha Brownies & Sweet NZ

20120322-000705.jpg

I have had the Donna Hay 10th Birthday App on my IPad for ages tempting me with the chocolate recipes, particularly these brownies. The problem is when I open this App the photos are so incredible and life like that I end up spending hours just looking through them, analyzing them and dreaming about replicating them one day. The actual cooking gets forgotten as the time whips by but I finally got round to making them this weekend. I only had mocha chocolate in the house left over from a cooking workshop so I decided to make it with that but you can use any food quality dark chocolate.

Check out the amount of chocolate in these babies, they have to be a chocoholics dream!

The final product was everything Donna Hay promises in her photographs, the only disappointment was my photos didn’t look like hers…ah well, more practice behind the camera and more eating of brownies ;0)

This is also my submission for Sweet NZ which is being hosted by Emma over at My Darling Lemon Thyme

Ingredients
300g dark chocolate 70% or mocha chocolate is what I used, chopped
280g butter
6 eggs
2 cups brown sugar
1 cup plain flour

Method
Preheat oven to 180C and line a 20cm x 30cm cake tin with baking paper.
Melt butter and half the chocolate in a pan over a low heat.
In a large bowl add the eggs, sugar, flour and rest of the chopped chocolate and briefly whisk together.
Pour the melted butter and chocolate into the bowl with the flour mixture and whisk again to combine.
Pour into prepared cake tin and bake for 30 minutes.
Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly. If served slightly warm the chocolate bits will ooze out which is rather delicious but they are pretty dam good cold too.

20120326-225722.jpg

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lovely brownies!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    March 26, 2012
  2. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    I am not a chocolate lover per say, but these sound delicious, so I suggest we give ’em a try. Unless you are dieting, or a fitness buff, or scared of enjoying food. Stop by the blog: “Pease Pudding”.

    March 26, 2012
  3. So few ingredients. SImply perfect.

    March 26, 2012
  4. They look like fantastic brownies to me😉

    March 26, 2012
  5. Mocha chocolate? I have to try this one! The brownies look perfect, great entry for Sweet New Zealand!

    Ciao
    Alessandra
    http://alessandrazecchini.blogspot.co.nz/

    March 26, 2012
  6. Delicious I love brownies!
    Ingrid and I made brownies when we started blogging and found them really difficult to photograph as well – there was way too much brown and we just couldnt get it right.
    Looking to others for inspiration and ideas is the way to go and like you said more photos and more eating!!!
    X

    March 27, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Funny, you know how you want them to look but it’s achieving that.

      March 28, 2012
  7. Morning Alli, I have really popped over because of the comment about your home made hot cross buns on Mad Dogs site. So i am going to keep popping in in the hope that you might share your recipe with us. I am dying for some real ones. The Hot Cross buns here are rubbish!!c

    March 27, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I’m hoping to get around to making some, if not I might have to cheat and re-post last years which were very good.

      March 28, 2012
  8. Looks absolutely wonderful!

    March 27, 2012
  9. I adore chocolate brownie! Thanks for sharing on Sweet NZ xx

    March 28, 2012
  10. Yes definitely chocolatey! Just as a brownie should be🙂

    March 31, 2012
  11. I managed to achieve that melting chocolate chunks inside it and was perfect for food photography. Love it when it is still warm, eaten as a pudding, together with vanilla ice cream and heaps of strawberries :))

    April 2, 2012
  12. damo #

    Hi,

    Great recipe, with few ingredients. Am going to have a crack at this over the weekend. Can you tell me what Mocha Chocolate is?

    April 4, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Damian, mocha chocolate has a percentage of coffee in it but you can use chocolate without but I recommend using 70% cocoa chocolate

      April 5, 2012
  13. Yummy. Definitely bookmarking this one🙂

    April 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

