Skip to content

Boysenberry Honey Yoghurt Cake

20120422-201610.jpg

It’s been a beautiful weekend out at the beach, I’m glad I was able to spend it at home surfing, running classes and squeezing in some baking too. After two months back and forth to Sydney, it is heaven to be home again for a week, it’s so quiet here compared to our office in Parramatta where the noise never seems to stop, it makes me appreciate where I live, there is not a car to be heard after dark after the beach goers have gone home. No street lights either which means great star gazing with no light pollution and the frequent sighting of shooting stars….bliss

For my sweet NZ post this month I am submitting a boysenberry honey yoghurt cake. Frances is hosting this months collection of goodies on her blog Bakeclub where you will find a round up of kiwi yummyness at the end of the month so do pop over.

Ingredients
Ingredients
200g SR Flour
100g ground almonds
150g liquid honey
250ml plain yoghurt
1tsp baking soda
100ml canola oil
3 small free range eggs
100g boysenberries, fresh or frozen
Glaze Ingredients
1 tbsp lime juice and zest of 1 lime
3 tbsp icing sugar

Method
Preheat oven to 180C and grease and flour a 22-24cm cake tin.
Place all the dry ingredients into a large bowl.
In another bowl whisk all the wet ingredients, including honey and eggs together.
Add the wet ingredients to the dry and briefly whisk together.
Spoon half the batter into the cake tin, sprinkle with boysenberries over the batter then pour over the rest of the batter to cover berries.
Bake for 45 minutes or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.
Remove the cake from the oven once cooked and allow it to cool.
Whisk together the icing sugar and lime zest and juice to make the glaze. And pour over the cooled cake.

20120422-204254.jpg

20120422-204237.jpg

21 Comments Post a comment
  1. A fabulous dessert! That cake looks divine.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    April 22, 2012
  2. Wonderful and i like making cakes made with oil!

    April 22, 2012
  3. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    All I need with this is some Tahitian White Chocolate ice cream. Thank you “Pease Pudding”. Excellent recipe.

    April 22, 2012
  4. Delicious – I love the way the berries are “bleeding” inside the cake.

    April 22, 2012
  5. This is really beautiful and who can beat baking at the beach! ah.. c

    April 22, 2012
  6. Looks so delicious! It’s Sunday morning here and a slice of this cake would be so lovely with my morning coffee.🙂

    April 22, 2012
  7. Oh wow, this looks divine. I love using yoghurt in baking…will def try this, thanks!

    April 22, 2012
  8. Oh how I would love to have a slice of this right now…looks so moist! Beautiful!

    April 22, 2012
  9. Beautiful. I bet it would be wonderful with other berries. I don’t see boysenberries too often, is the only reason I say that.

    April 22, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Yes any berries would be good and you must be moving into berry season soon over there. Boysenberry and Blackberries are my favourite…..don’t tell hubby he works for a strawberry cooperative :0)

      April 23, 2012
  10. Oh yum! I miss being able to pick wild boysenberries back home. xx

    April 22, 2012
  11. What a delicious entry for Sweet New Zealand, and boysenberries are sooooo New Zealand!!!

    I have a give away on my blog of some interesting products that a keen gourmand may like to experiment with… if you like to enter :-)!
    Info here
    http://alessandrazecchini.blogspot.co.nz/2012/04/give-away-to-new-zealand-readers-fresh.html

    ciao
    Alessandra

    April 23, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I have already entered, I love the Fesh As, they would be nice in this recipe too!

      April 23, 2012
  12. This sounds gorgeous! Even though I have no idea what boysenberries are😀 I want some now!

    April 23, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I’m surprised you haven’t seen them in the UK. I have a cocktail coming next with Boysenberries too!

      April 24, 2012
  13. Yum,,,,love cake with a little fruit in it🙂

    April 24, 2012
  14. Louise M. Fawcett #

    yum…that is one I would enjoy. I think I am addicted to boysenberries🙂

    April 25, 2012
  15. I have just nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://aftertasteblog.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    April 26, 2012
  16. Your comments on appreciating the peace and calm of where you live, and the possibilities for stargazing, greeted me on my first day back in New Zealand after a trip home to Europe. I absolutely loved being in the cities, but it is just so heartwarming to be back here, enjoying the quiet and catching up with food blogs (stars not out yet!). Hope to catch up with you soon. I love the sound of this cake. Always keen on a good yoghurt cake.

    April 26, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something
  2. JOIE DE VIVRE – A Gateau for Maman | MyClub

Leave a Reply

