Skip to content

Coconut & Lime Mini Cakes with a Lime Cream Cheese Topping

20120509-212642.jpg

These are definitely a Little & Fridays inspired cake, we visited a few weeks ago and although I didn’t buy their lemon and coconut cake because I can never get past the raspberry ganache one, I thought I could make my own version. I haven’t yet bought their book but it is definitely on my wish list, there are so many yummy delights I would like to make from their cafes. If you live in Auckland and haven’t yet been to Little & Fridays you have no idea what you are missing out on, the best cakes and tarts in town. But feel free to share other top cake eateries with me as I love to try new places.

I am also submitting this recipe for our monthly Sweet New Zealand event that is being hosted by Jemma over at Time For A Little Something

Ingredients
125g butter
125g sugar
125g SR flour
50g coconut thread or desiccated
2 eggs
2 tbsp milk
zest & juice of 1 lime
For the filling and topping
200g cream cheese
zest & juice of 1 lime
2 tbsp icing sugar

Method
Grease and flour 6-8 standard cup cake tins and preheat an oven to 180C
Place butter & sugar in a bowl and beat with an electric whisk or good old fashioned wooded spoon until light and fluffy.
Add one egg at a time and whisk in between both additions.
Add the coconut and zest and juice of one lime.
Sift flour into mixture and fold gently through with a metal spoon so not to loose all the air that has been beaten in.
Spoon mixture into cupcake tins, generally it is advise to fill them three quarters full. I was offered a great tip from someone who read my blog and suggested using an ice cream scoop to get a consistent size, brilliant.
Bake in oven for 30 minutes or until an inserted knife comes out of the sponge clean.
Allow to cool before removing from tins or frosting them.
Beat together the cream cheese, icing sugar and zest & juice of 1 lime.
Once the cupcakes are cool, slice them in half across the centre and fill them with a generous teaspoon of cream cheese mix. Stick the top and bottom together and spread another generous teaspoon on top of cupcake.
You can sprinkle more coconut or lime zest on top to decorate them if you wish.

20120509-212704.jpg

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jo #

    I LOVE Little & Friday…I’ve mentioned them twice on my blog now. So so good.
    Your replica looks great!

    May 9, 2012
  2. So pretty, and adorable. Love the flavours too, I don’t think I could stop at one!

    May 9, 2012
  3. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    What can I say, the reason I visit the gym daily is so I can eat YummY treats like this. Thank You “Pease Pudding”.

    May 9, 2012
  4. Divine! Those exotic tasting mini cakes are wonderful!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    May 9, 2012
  5. They look fit for a queen!

    May 9, 2012
  6. I just know these are delicious!🙂 Love that the cream cheese filling and topping is only slightly sweetened….yum!

    May 9, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Yes, I don’t like the topping overly sweet.

      May 9, 2012
  7. In November when i am home I must try this place of cakes and tarts. This looks like a lovely cake and your picture of the cake is so beautiful. i am going to Pin it. Do you mind? You do lovely work.. c

    May 9, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Hi C, i would be keen to meet up with you there if you have the time, I know what it is like trying to catch up with everyone so not to worry it you don’t have time. They also have a smaller venue in New Market

      May 9, 2012
  8. These look so pretty – love the photo!

    May 9, 2012
  9. Very pretty!

    May 10, 2012
  10. farrukh2132 #

    Reblogged this on farrukh2132 and commented:
    Ahh, they loook amazing!

    May 10, 2012
  11. I think I havent tried mixing limes/lemons and coconuts, for now I can just imagine how it would taste until I make some of those wonderful treats of yours

    May 14, 2012
  12. I’ve seen the Little and Friday’s book and it looks divine. Just as these cakes do too. Love the way you have split them and filled them – totally mini cake!

    May 18, 2012
  13. Reblogged this on claratheginger and commented:
    these are looking so good!

    June 12, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Time for a Little Something presents Sweet New Zealand | Time for a Little Something

Leave a Reply

