Skip to content

Spicy Baby Aubergines with Coriander and Mint

20120506-220140.jpg

I was at Avondale market last week and came across these baby aubergine, it’s the first time I have see them sold here so was quick bag some. My friend asked what I planned to make with them, I had no idea, I never shop with a list when I go to the market, rather I buy what looks interesting and fresh. Avondale market has a large produce area which has an Asian and Pacific influence so there is always something new and interesting to discover. You have to get there early if you don’t like the crowds, it gets really packed so we planned to be there early. We had already done our shopping by 8am and where chatting over a coffee by the time the market started to really fill out.

This recipe comes from the BBC Good Food, I tweeked it slightly to the spices I had available, adding a few more. Don’t skimp on the whole bunch of coriander and mint though, they are the key flavours to this dish.

Ingredients – serves 2
2 tbsp olive oil
2 red onions , sliced
4 garlic cloves, crushed
1 red chillies, deseeded and sliced
2 tsp coriander seeds , toasted and crushed
2 tsp fennel seeds , toasted
2 tsp mustard seeds
20 baby aubergines, left whole with stalk intact
1 x 400g canned chopped tomatoes
1 tbsp honey
1 bunch of mint leaves, roughly chopped
1 bunch of coriander, roughly chopped

Method
Heat oil in a heavy-based saucepan
Add the sliced onions and garlic and fry till soft.
Add the chilli, coriander, fennel and mustard seeds and cook for 2 minutes.
Add the aubergines (intact with stalks attached), coating them in the onion and spices.
Pour in the tomatoes and sugar, cover and gently cook for 40 mins, until aubergines are tender.
Season sauce with salt and pepper and add the chopped mint and coriander, saving a little for garnish.
Cover and simmer for 2 mins. Sprinkle over remaining herbs and serve with couscous and yogurt.
http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1263669/spicy-baby-aubergine-stew-with-coriander-and-mint

20120506-220202.jpg

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi Alli! This looks amazing. I went to the Avondale market for the first time a few weeks ago (actually on the day the clocks went back so it was easy to get up early, heh) I’m a convert – when school is done and I have time to actually shop instead of duck into the closest supermarket when things get totally dire I’m going to go every week!

    May 11, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      It’s a bit of a hike from Muriwai but I would like to get over there more often, txt me when you go and we can catch up

      May 11, 2012
  2. That sounds delicious – that’s an excellent still life of the baby aubergines too!

    May 11, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks, I don’t normally photo the produce, I don’t think about doing it but they were so cute I will have to try more often.

      May 11, 2012
  3. Fabuous! Those are some of my favorite things.

    cheers,

    Rosa

    May 11, 2012
  4. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Great recipe, thank you “Pease Pudding”.

    May 11, 2012
  5. I grow these each year and i feel SO BAD chopping them up, they are just so beautiful.. ! Miss the NZ markets.. c

    May 11, 2012
  6. They are adorable!

    May 12, 2012
  7. Beautiful and I love all these flavours!

    May 12, 2012
  8. Gorgeous….love those little egg plants….it’s an age since I have been to the Avondale markets, must get back.

    May 12, 2012
  9. Louise M. Fawcett #

    Hello Alli, gorgeous photography…and yummy recipe. A dish fit for the season🙂

    May 13, 2012
  10. When I used to live in Mt Albert, I love buying my vegetables there specially my Asian greens. That aubergine dish of yours looks like a really good pair with something grilled

    May 14, 2012
  11. Mmmm, this is my kind of dish. I used to often get little aubergine like these at the Lyttelton market in Christchurch, but haven’t come across any here. I used to often use them in a Mark Bittman recipe for Curried Coconut Eggplant & Potatoes. Will definitely try this dish though the next time I find some baby aubergines.

    xo

    May 14, 2012
  12. Wow that first picture is gorgeous! I’ve never seen baby aubergines here, jealous they’re so cute. I’ve been having problems commenting recently but I have been here. I LOVED that Turkish thing you posted a while ago like a stuffed quesadilla spanakopita thing. That’s defintely happening here soon, thanks!!

    May 17, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I don’t cook many things twice but this I will do over and over again, hoping to get more baby aubergines. Although I had a great aubergine dish at a Japanese restaurant I would like to replicate.

      May 17, 2012
  13. These look so cute. I had a few aubergines this year in the greenhouse so will look forward to them again when the new season rolls around.

    May 18, 2012
  14. What gorgeous eggplants! We grew some striped light purple ones this summer just gone. I don’t know what is is about mini veges, but I just love them! Sounds like a beautiful recipe xx

    May 31, 2012
  15. Food Stories #

    I’ve been enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

    June 9, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Many thanks for nominating me, I will forward the Award soon!

      June 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

