Skip to content

Spicy Sticky Braised Belly Pork

20120528-210502.jpg

I was contacted by a representative of 100% NZ Pork to see if I would be interested to help promote New Zealand pork by creating a recipes with their produce. In our house we only ever buy New Zealand free range pork, so this was an easy yes to promoting locally grown produce rather than imported.

100% NZ Pork also have a great website, Extraordinary Kitchen supported by well known Kiwi chefs offering more recipes and information on our local pork products.

Belly pork is one of my favourite cuts of pork, I know many people shy away from it because of the fat content but it adds so much more to a dish and tenderness to the cooked meat. Personally I would rather eat good honest fat that hasn’t been processed than the stuff hidden in processed food and lets face it, your not going to eat it every day.

I love this Chinese style spicy sticky pork, it has few ingredients and is easy to prepare and if you don’t want it too hot cut down the chillies in the recipe. It’s perfect served with steamed rice and vegetables. Any left overs, if by a small miracle there are any, is perfect shredded and stuffed into a roll for lunch the next day.

If you like this recipe I also have a belly pork cassoulet recipe and pork and mushroom stroganoff pie recipe coming soon too! I do love winter for its hearty food, I think that’s my Northern English background taking over.

Ingredients
500g New Zealand Belly Pork
Vegetable oil
2 cups water
1 Cinnamon stick
6 star anise
2 -4 dried chillies, finely chopped
2 inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and grated
2tbsp dark soy sauce
2tbsp white vinegar
2 tbsp brown sugar

Method
Cut the belly pork into 1 inch cubes.
Add 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil to a heavy based or cast iron frying pan, and heat over a medium high heat.
Add the belly pork cubes to the pan when the oil is hot.
Cook the belly pork on all sides until golden brown (approx a minute on each side).
Add the grated ginger, star anise cinnamon stick and chillies to the pan and fry for a few more minutes. Stand back as the chili fumes can make you eyes water!
Add the water and bring to the boil, then turn heat down to low and place a lid on the frying pan.
Cook on simmer for 45 minutes until pork is tender but still firm.
Remove the pork from the pan and set aside.
Whisk together the sugar, vinegar and soy sauce then add to the pan, boiling the liquid until it reduces by half.
Add the pork back to the pan and continue to cook until the juices reduce and become sticky. Stir constantly at this stage.
Serve the pork with steamed rice and a side of steamed Bok Choi.

32 Comments Post a comment
  1. Excellent work!

    May 25, 2012
  2. WOW – that looks yum! I love pork belly, it’s my new thing to order when we are out for dinner.

    May 25, 2012
  3. I’m with you here Alli – nothing like a good pork belly. Chinese style, European style, Indian style, any style of cooking really! (just realised that this all rhymes – Alli, belly, really!)🙂

    May 25, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Now you know my nick name…Alli Belly, only works in NZ cos of the vowel sounds ;0)

      May 25, 2012
  4. right .. i am off out to the barn to look at the bellies of my porkers! i am in complete agreement about good honest fat! the old folks lived on it, my grandfather fried his bread in it every morning and these people were not fat.. none of them were.. this is something no-one really talks about.. love this dish!! AllyBelly! love it!! c

    May 25, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Now that’s why I don’t live on a farm, all the animals would become pets!

      May 25, 2012
  5. Oh Alli that looks so good, you can’t beat a little pork belly!🙂

    May 25, 2012
  6. Droolworthy! I love belly pork and Chinese food, so that dish is right up my alley.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    May 25, 2012
  7. Beautiful and I agree with what you say about the fat…better natural fat than processed goodnees knows what. Gorgeous recipe, we love pork belly here🙂

    May 26, 2012
  8. Shirley #

    That looks awesome!

    May 26, 2012
  9. I hate to admit it, but I’ve never tried pork belly. Weird huh? But this recipe looks so good, and I love the flavours (I use a similar combo when I poach chicken) so I can’t wait to try this out.

    May 26, 2012
  10. Well Alli this might be used for my first attempt at a pork belly recipe. Looks so very tasty.

    May 27, 2012
  11. Delicious looking pork belly!!!
    Loved the catch up today – the young ones were on their best behaviour!
    The bubbles went down a TREAT too – its always inspiring to catch up with like minded people…X

    May 27, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Great afternoon and all four of your looked so well. Cheese making will be next at my place, keep you posted.

      May 28, 2012
  12. Oh. My. Word!

    May 27, 2012
  13. Spectacular, could do pork belly for monday morning brunch when it looks like this!

    May 27, 2012
  14. I am happy to see the the best part of pork is featured in your blog.

    May 28, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      It is the best bit isn’t it!

      May 28, 2012
  15. Louise M. Fawcett #

    yummy recipe…and photograph🙂

    May 28, 2012
  16. Gina #

    Everything on your blog looks flawlessly delicious! I don’t even want to contemplate how much time I’ve just spent clicking ‘load more posts’. Amazing stuff, can’t wait to see what you post in the future🙂

    May 28, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Many thanks Gina, you’re too kind!

      May 29, 2012
  17. Bunny Eats Design #

    Pork belly is my favourite cut of pork too. Growing up in a Cantonese family, this kind of pork belly braise is pure comfort food to me. The sticky, sweet sauce takes me to a happy place and it’s good for lunch the next day (watch out for envious co-workers though). Love your tablesetting too. Gorgeous pieces.

    May 29, 2012
  18. Beautiful dish and gorgeous photography!

    June 1, 2012
  19. Allison, I’m really happy to be here and introduced to you by Raymund. Your pictures are gorgeous. I saw this pork belly dish and immediately jump in to comment. We use quite a bit of pork belly in Japanese cooking but usually not spicy (Japanese food is not so spicy in general). This must be delicious and my husband will love this one for sure!

    June 1, 2012
  20. I’ve just made and eaten this dish, complete with rice and bok choy! My first attempt at cooking pork belly – so easy and so tasty. I felt I was eating out. Really delicious, Allison:)

    June 10, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I’m so glad you liked it and you found it easy to make, hubby keeps demanding I make it again!

      June 10, 2012
  21. Reblogged this on claratheginger and commented:
    Yum!

    June 10, 2012
  22. I cannot WAIT to make this – and I agree, give me good, honest fat over the fake sort any day!

    June 17, 2012
  23. Darren #

    I made this tonight. It was EPIC. I will keeping a eye out for more of your recipes. Thanks

    June 19, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Many thanks Darren and I am glad you enjoyed it.

      June 19, 2012
  24. I love eating pork belly…succulent and divine! Your recipe looks very interesting…something I must try out this weekend!

    June 21, 2012
  25. Pork belly is so underrated! This looks yummy! It’s making me hungry.

    June 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

