Skip to content

Sunday Surfing & Porridge with Poached Tamarillo

I’m certain I would be a better person if I could surf every day, I always feel quite content and chilled out after being out in the surf, and a little knackered too. There is something quite humbling about bobbing about on a surf board waiting for the perfect wave, watching the gannets fly over head searching out their dinner. Mind you, I would be a better surfer too if I could get out every day :o) instead I have to wait for the calmer days out at Muriwai like this weekend with it’s 2-3 foot clean surf and hardly a breeze, not like the ‘wild west coast’ it is known for at all.

This way my breakfast after surfing this morning, porridge with tamarillos poached in cinnamon and honey and a big scoop of natural yoghurt. I won’t give you a recipe for making porridge, everyone likes it made their own way, some of you probably don’t like it at all but I have noted down the poached tamarillo.

Ingredients
3 tamarillos
1 cup water
3 Tbsp of honey or 1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
Method
Cut a small cross at the bottom of each tamarillo and place in a small bowl.
Boil a kettle of water and and pour over the tamarillos and leave for 1 minute.
Peel the skin off the tamarillos.
In a small saucepan add the 1 cup of water, honey and cinnamon and bring to the boil, simmer for 5 minutes.
Add the tamarillos and simmer for another couple of minutes.
Turn the heat off and allow the tamarillos to cool in the syrup.
Slice and serve over porridge with some of the syrup.

a few pics around Muriwai

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sounds like a good starting into a sunday…

    August 4, 2012
  2. Hehe I wish I could surf! Alas, I am terrified of the water and open water😛 But my husband swore by it!🙂

    August 4, 2012
  3. GREAT..

    August 5, 2012
  4. Porridge isn’t really my thing, but it does look lovely😉

    August 5, 2012
  5. Looks delicious! Beautiful photos of Muriwai!

    August 5, 2012
  6. Beautiful photos. I haven’t ever had tamarillos but as I sit here eating my morning porridge I can’t help but think it would be better with them🙂.

    August 5, 2012
  7. Beautiful porridge and stunning photos!

    August 5, 2012
  8. Very nice. And for this Yank, very exotic!

    August 5, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      and I always thought grits was exotic :o)

      August 5, 2012
  9. Wow I love your first pic of Muriwai, really nice

    August 6, 2012
  10. Must admit I fall into the camp of people who don’t like porridge, but I do love tamarillos, especially poached with honey – like the addition of cinnamon.

    Hard to believe, but I think it’s actually a year today since we left Muriwai – I do miss the ruggedness, and you and P as well.

    xo

    August 10, 2012
  11. Fantastic pictures of the coast! We have friends living on the East coast in Tiki Tiki up via Gisborne and also has beautiful scenery.

    August 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

