Skip to content

Cherry Almond Cakes

cherrycake

I have a weakness for kitchenware shops and it is very rare that I come out from them empty handed, even if I don’t need anything but then it’s not really about whether ones needs the item is it? Although you can always justify a purchase if you have to. Last week I was in one of our local shops, mix n match, and saw these little loaf cases and and thought, oh how cute, they would be perfect for my blog. Isn’t it funny when you start blogging you’re always looking out for dish ware, material and cookware that will look good in a photograph, not that it has become an obsession but I never do anything by halves!

I chose to make cherry almond cakes with glace cherries rather than fresh cherries because I have fond memories of my Nan baking or decorating cakes with them. There is something homely and very British about them for me and living overseas it is always nice to have reminders of home.

Recipe makes one tin or 12 mini loaf cases (muffin size)

Ingredients

  • 100g ground almonds
  • 200g butter, softened
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 160g self-raising flour
  • 250g glacé cherries, halved
  • 55g flaked almonds

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4
  2. Butter and line with greaseproof paper the base and sides of a deep 20cm/8in cake
  3. Place the butter and sugar in a large bowl and beat or whisk together until pale and fluffy.
  4. Add the eggs one at a time  beating well between each addition.
  5. Fold in the almonds and flour with a large metal spoon, taking care not to knock out too much air.
  6. Fold in the halved glacé cherries .
  7. Spoon the mixture into the tin and smooth the top.
  8. Cover with the flaked almonds then bake the cake in the centre of the oven for 1 hour or until an inserted knife comes out clean. (Do not be tempted to open the oven door for the first 50 mins or the cake may sink.)
  9. Remove the cake from the tin and transfer to a cooling rack.
  10. Allow to cool completely before slicing.
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh, this looks lovely. I once did a similar recipie on my blog, cherry and coconut. It came out great. I’m going to bookmark this one and try to make it sometime soon.

    August 15, 2009
  2. I LOVE kitchenware shops too, spend far too long in them browsing and too much money when I leave. I love these little loaf cases!! And the cherry alond cake sounds perfect!

    August 15, 2009
  3. Those little loaf cases are really adorable! I love anything mini-sized. The cakes sound fabulous too, I love cherries and almonds and never thought to combine them.

    August 16, 2009
  4. delightfullysweet #

    I love the loaf cases. they are too cute!

    August 17, 2009
  5. Your blog is truly lovely! Such beautiful photos. I know just what you mean about keeping an eye out for items that you might somehow put to use for your blog. I do the same thing now too. Napkins, odd or unique dishes, coffee cups, interesting utensils, etc., most anything of the sort is potential fodder for a food-blog photo, isn’t it?

    I must return to your site again soon!

    Jane

    August 18, 2009

Leave a comment