Skip to content

Focaccia Bread

I apologise for being so remiss with my postings this past week but I have been busy surfing the NSW coast, Byron Bay to be precise. I had full intentions of posting while I was away and even had posts prepared but after a days surfing and lounging in the sun I was too exhausted to plug the laptop in (which I only had with me because the first few days I was working over in NSW) and was more inclined to spend my last vestiges of energy on food and wine!

I can see why people move to North East Australia, the weather is perfect, the surf made me cry it was so perfect (see below for those who care for surf) and the produce is in abundance. I am pleased it isn’t too far away so we can pop across for a fix whenever we need it. Apart from surfing I managed to go to Matt Moran’s Aria restaurant, which I have been wanting to visit for a long time, unfortunately it was closed for the public holiday.. boo..hoo so I only have a photo of me outside and we had to eat elsewhere, although the restaurant we went to was excellent and I was no longer dissapointed. Maybe next time we are in Brisbane or Sydney I will have better luck.

Anyway, enough of Aussie and back to NZ. A few weeks ago I went to an Italian pizza and bread course run by two lovely ladies, Raffaela and Patricia, at Al Dente who not only worked wonders with pizza dough but also showed us how to make a quick easy focaccia which was incredibly light and airy. For those who live in the Auckland area I highly recommend their classes, not only was it informative and hands one, the ladies are so hospitable and welcoming and there was no rush to finish the course. Rather you were invited to stay longer, chat with their Italian friends they had invited over to share the huge amount of pizza we created and enjoy an Italian family atmosphere.

I have made the bread three times now and also shown my class how to make it and each time it turns out perfect. The difference with this dough is that it is more like a wet ‘poolish‘ and not one you knead. Next time I make it a I will photograph the dough before baking and add it to this post, in the mean time here is the recipe and feel free to ask any questions.

Ingredients

  • 500g High grade flour (strong flour)
  • 500 ml+ Luke warm (room temperature)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 ½ teaspoon dry Yeast
  • 1 ½ teaspoon salt
  • Olive Oil
  • Emulsion : olive oil and water
  • Sea salt

Method

  1. Pre heat oven to 200C
  2. In a large bowl mix with your hands flour, sugar and yeast.
  3. Pour in the water.
  4. Add salt and knead in the bowl for 5 minutes. Eventually add more water.
  5. Pour in about 3 Tablespoons of Olive Oil and mix it so the oil covers the dough and goes down the side of the dough.
  6. Allow to rise covered with plastic wrap for about 1 hour or until it doubles.
  7. Pour the dough onto a well floured work surface (without kneading any further).
  8. Grease with plenty of Olive Oil a shallow oven dish or a baking tray with edges.
  9. 6.         Emulsion: in a small bowl whisk olive oil and warm water until well mixed.
  10. 7.         Pour onto the focaccia and press with your fingers to create multiple wells.
  11. 8.         The focaccia does not need rising at this stage (but it does not harm it. It will just make it thicker).
  12. 9.         Bake for about 20 – 30 minutes.
17 Comments Post a comment
  1. jo #

    I love the look of this focaccia bread and can almost smell the herbs.

    April 7, 2010
  2. This focaccia looks perfect.

    April 7, 2010
  3. Surfing! Cool. The foccacia doesn’t look ‘alf bad either…I think I might be coming on home so maybe I’ll even get to take a class myself…

    April 7, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Sasa,

      It would be great to catch up when you do come home and have the time of course, maybe we should get some Bloggers together?

      April 7, 2010
  4. I wish I could go surfing too… Anyway, that focaccia bread looks great. 🙂

    April 7, 2010
  5. It looks delicious too! I’ve never made focaccia….

    April 10, 2010
  6. I love your bright photos!! This focaccia looks amazing. I have been craving this bread lately. So weird. Lovely!

    April 15, 2010
  7. We love to go down to Byron, especially during whale watching season. We take a picnic and binoculars and position our selves out on the cliff by the light house. Did you visit Bangalow while you were there? A shame Aria was closed.

    April 28, 2010
  8. Got the batter on the rise. Thank you for the recipe; it sounds fabulous. Love your blog!!

    March 7, 2011
  9. Got the batter/dough on the rise. Thank you for the recipe; it sounds fabulous. Love your blog!!

    March 7, 2011
  10. I had to come back and say it’s the best focaccia I’ve had in ages. We loved it!!

    March 7, 2011
  11. Forgot to tell you that I used vital gluten here too, and the crust and texture of both the inside and the outside were addictive.

    March 7, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I’ll have to have a look for it and try your bagel recipe. I do love the texture of this bread too, the oil gives it a crunchy crust but it still has an almost English crumpet centre

      March 7, 2011
  12. clara #

    what kind of herbs did you use for this focaccia?

    April 27, 2011
  13. Thank you so much for this. Will make to sell at the Winter Encraftment Market in Christchurch this Saturday, it was sooo amazing. Love the texture, my friends did too!

    June 25, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Simple cauliflower salad « Two Spoons
  2. I’m selling at the Winter Encraftment Market this Saturday! « Two Spoons

Leave a comment