Skip to content

Apple & Cinnamon Galette

Doesn’t apple and cinnamon remind you of winter? Those of you who saw the previous post will know this is one of my recipes from the epic ‘double cream’ weekend when it was wet and cold outside and we had a litre of double cream fresh from the farmer to consume. I’m proud to say we did consume it all and that was all within on week too! On one hand I am really sad that it has all gone, I miss the sneaky spoonful straight from the jar when I go to the fridge, on the other hand I don’t feel that I need haul myself through the water at the pool an extra ten lengths every day to shed it off.

I love the honesty of galettes, nothing to hide offering up just the bear basics, saying that, I have a class this weekend where we will be making chocolate pastry and I’m just pondering the idea of a chocolate, pear and praline galette!

Apple & Cinnamon Galette

Ingredients

  • 180g plain flour
  • 110g butter
  • 50g sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 sour apples (I use Granny Smith)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp water
  • additional sugar for dusting
  • A little milk for glazing the pastry

Method

  • Preheat oven on ‘bake’ to 180C .
  • For the pastry, place the flour & butter in a bowl.
  • Work the ingredients together until the mixture looks like breadcrumbs.
  • Add the egg and bring dough together and divide into 4 equal portions, shape them into balls and flatten.
  • Rest dough in fridge for an hour before rolling out.
  • Mix together the water, cinnamon and tablespoon of sugar together in a small bowl.
  • Prepare the apples by coring them, slicing them into halves and then into 1 cm thick wedges.
  • Roll one piece of dough into a circle the size of a ‘side plate’.
  • Arrange apple wedges in a circle from the centre of the dough leaving 4cm free at edges.
  • Brush apples with cinnamon mixture.
  • Fold dough into the centre, pleating as you go, it doesn’t have to be perfect, galette are rustic.
  • Brush the pastry with a little milk and dust the whole galette with sugar.
  • Repeat with the rest of the dough. Alternatively you can make one large galette.
  • Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown (a larger galette will take approx 35 minutes).
  • Serve with cream or ice cream.
8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Bev #

    Chocolate, pear and praline galette! Oh that sounds like heaven!

    August 25, 2010
  2. Oh my, I saw the picture and swear I could smell warm apple and cinnamon. Beautiful galette!

    August 26, 2010
  3. ninatimm #

    Why, oh why have I not stumbled over this delightful blog before. Simply awesome, mind if I follow you?

    August 26, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Nina, I would love you to follow and let me know what you are currently cooking and whether you try any recipes from my Blog.

      August 29, 2010
  4. Kaori #

    Yummy, I wish we have tastevision! I might try that this weekend!

    August 27, 2010
  5. This galette sounds amazing and a chocolate, pear, and praline one sounds just as great!

    August 31, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      The chocolate one was delicious and I will post next week!

      September 2, 2010
  6. Hi there, I found your website by the use of Google at the same time as looking for a similar matter, your website came up, it looks great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    December 4, 2011

Leave a comment