Skip to content

Chocolate, Cinnamon & Plum Ice Cream

This is what I call cheats ice cream! We had an impromptu dinner last night at our place with friends and fortunately the pantry and fridge where full since I had planned on trying out a few new dishes over the long weekend. But dessert hadn’t factored into that planning as I have been trying to indulge less in that area.

We created Japanese Takoyaki with another cool gadget I have, a post I hope to share with you next time I make them and a fennel, cucumber & seafood salad which I will also post soon. But dinner is not the same for me if it doesn’t end on a sweet note. I had a few cups of stewed cinnamon plums in the freezer and some custard and cream in the fridge so we decided to whip up a quick ice cream. I just love my ice cream maker, you can produce a dessert in minutes, particularly since this one was cheating by using ready make custard rather than making a creme Anglais. We just would have had the time for it to chill down and there is nothing wrong with a few short cuts is there? I also added a generous helping of shaved Whittakers Dark Ghana chocolate to the mix.

I loved this impromptu dessert, the tart plum against the creamy custard with a rich bitter bite of chocolate. My guest loved it too but I told them we couldn’t eat it all since I would have to photograph it the next day so lucky for me I still have some left in the freezer!

For those of you who are local I bought the gorgeous little bowls and linen from a the Ambience Home & Gift store in Huapai.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of stewed plums, chilled & stones removed
  • 2 tbs sugar if you haven’t already added any to the plums
  • 1 cup cream, whipped to soft peak
  • 2 cups custard
  • 100g min 70% cocoa chocolate, shaved. I used Whittakers Dark Ghana

    Method

  • Mix together the custard, sugar and stewed plums.
  • Fold in the whipped cream and shaved chocolate.
  • Follow manufacturers instruction for you ice cream makes.
  • Easy as that!
  • 12 Comments Post a comment
    1. You have me wanting to dust off my ice-cream maker!

      January 30, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Do it Stef, all that lovely stone fruit we have at the moment.

        February 2, 2011
    2. That looks like a delicious bowl of WIN! I have plums coming out of my ears at the moment, so I’ve been bottling a few & trialling a few dessert ideas at work. Your ice cream has some niceflavour combinations – very slurp!

      January 30, 2011
    3. too bad it is not the season, i would love to have one cup !!

      January 31, 2011
    4. such a yummy combo for this ice cream
      lovely pics too
      Delphine

      January 31, 2011
    5. LOVE the flavor combination you have chosen…how unique! Beautiful pics, too! We’d love for you to share your stuff with us over at dishfolio.com!

      January 31, 2011
    6. Congratulations – this looks beautiful. I love plums, but it’s not a flavour you often see even in some of the best ice-cream parlours. This makes me wish for summer so that ripe plums are back at the local farmers’ market.

      January 31, 2011
    7. That looks like THE perfect Valentine’s Day treat! Pretty, pink, and delicious! I’ll have to try that one.

      February 4, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Good for those enjoying a warm sunny valentines!

        February 8, 2011
    8. Carolyn #

      A very tempting recipe, and a beautifully composed photo. Looking at it a second time, it’s clear that you carefully arranged the elements- from the diagonal linen to the alternating cups/plums. Well done!

      February 6, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Many thanks for the compliments Carolyn, it seems to be a never ending learning curve with photogrpahy but I do enjoy it and it gives me another excuse to buy crockery and linen!

        February 8, 2011

    Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    1. David Lebovitz’s Butterscotch Pecan Ice Cream

    Leave a comment