Skip to content

Tortas de Aceite & Sweet New Zealand

20110806-060124.jpg

Last week I popped into Farro and found some Tortas de Aceite in their ‘specials’ basket, I admit I can’t resist rummaging through the specials, can anyone? Often it means trying something you may not normally buy, in this case their originally retail price is quite high. They didn’t last long, they were so delicious with their crunchy flakey pastry and a hint of orange so I went back the next day for more but they had sold out. What else could I do do but make my own so I started rummaging around the net for a recipe and found this one.

It’s also my submission to Sweet New Zealand, a new monthly Kiwi blogging event instigated by Alessandra who will summarize what we have all have chosen for our submission at the end of the month.

20110807-104921.jpg

I’m afraid it’s all in grams even the liquid.

Ingredients
Tortas de Aceite – (recipe adapted from Tidology)
Ingredients
50 gr (1 3/4 oz) olive oil
Zest of 1 orange
180g flour + extra for rolling
7g yeast
80g warm water
20g sugar + extra for sprinkling on top
Pinch of salt

Method
Preheat oven to 200C.
Heat oil with orange zest then remove from the heat.
When cool, add rest of ingredients and knead gently.
Cover dough and allow dough to rise until doubled in size.
Divide dough into little golf ball size.
Flour work surface and roll pieces out into thin circles.
Sprinkle with extra sugar and place on a baking tray and bake in oven until golden(approx 10 mins) I also added extra zest to the top of mine but some add anise also to the dough.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. They look gorgeous! I love orange flavour in sweets!

    August 6, 2011
  2. I love these, great entry for Sweet New Zealand! Which yeast did you use Alli?

    August 7, 2011
  3. I have to admit I had to Google tortas de aceite but I’m sold on the idea. These look delicious, perfect for all the oranges in my fruit bowl at the moment 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  4. peasepudding #

    Hi Alie, I always use the Edmunds instant yeast sachets because it dissolves and combines quicker.

    August 8, 2011
  5. Those are gorgeous! Really cool recipe.

    August 9, 2011
  6. Hi, I’ve never had them with orange. Must try! I do mine with anise seeds and/or fennel seeds, and no rise, so a bit different. It’s nice to eat a biscuit without butter and much sugar and have it be so delicious and more-ish. Lovely photo.

    August 10, 2011
  7. I am thinking terribly moreish 🙂

    August 13, 2011
  8. Look yummy! Would like to learn more NZ recipes! 🙂

    August 15, 2011

Leave a comment