Skip to content

Home Made Feta, Bean Herb Salad and Stuffed Pesto Feta Mushrooms

20120113-160726.jpg

If you had read the previous post you will know that I have been making cheese over the Christmas break and you can find a recipe for Feta Cheese here.

As well as a simple Greek Salad I turned my feta into this lovely bean, herb salad which was the perfect accompaniment for a summer BBQ, albeit our summer at the moment is quite questionable. We also enjoyed stuffed field mushrooms with pesto and feta for breakfast one Sunday morning and definitely a dish I could eat for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

I am also very excited about my Camembert which is maturing nicely and look forward to introducing you to that soon. What shall I make with it or should I eat it au natural? It was made with un-pasturised milk so I am convinced it will be special, very European I hope as the Kiwis do not yet make un-pasturised cheese even though it is now permitted to produce here. Correct me if I am wrong and you have found an New Zealand un-pasturised cheese, I will gladly hunt it down.

Ingredients
Makes enough for 4 side salads
2 cup broad beans, frozen
1 cup garden peas, frozen
250g Feta cheese, chopped into squares or crumbled
Handful parsley and mint, finely chopped
Tbsp capers, chopped
Zest of one lemon
Juice of half a lemon
3 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to season

Method
Blanch the broad beans as per instructions on packet and then drain and plunge in ice water. Drain completely.
Rinse the garden peas in cold water only, they don’t require cooking.
Add all the ingredients to a large bowl and combine.
Serve chilled.
Goes well with fish, chicken or just on its own.

20120113-163832.jpg

I have given the approximate ingredients per portion for a guideline on purchasing but it’s really a recipe where a bit more or less of one thing will not matter, it’s all about preference and tasting as you go.

Ingredients per portion
2-3 field mushrooms
1 tsp of pesto per mushroom, recipe here
1 tsp feta cheese per mushroom, crumbled
1 tsp olive oil per mushroom
Cracked black pepper

Method
Combine the pesto and feta together in a bowl.
Place the mushrooms on a baking tray, I used my individual oven proof frying pans.
Spoon pesto/feta mix over the mushrooms.
Drizzle with olive oil
Bake in oven for 20 minutes
Place mushrooms on serving plates and garnish with cracked pepper.

24 Comments Post a comment
  1. What a gorgeous salad annd combination! I’d love to make my own cheese.

    Chers,

    Rosa

    January 12, 2012
  2. Gorgeous – we grow broad beans here and only have a few more weeks to wait until this year´s sowing starts to deliver 🙂

    January 13, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      with fresh broad beans it would be just perfect! I’m coming to visit ;o)

      January 16, 2012
  3. Sounds great – I love broad beans 😉

    January 13, 2012
  4. Wow, these are both just great. I can just taste the homemade feta, OK, I can’t but boy do I want to!

    January 13, 2012
  5. All looks wonderfully yummy to me, my kind of food :-)!

    Ciao
    Alessandra

    January 13, 2012
  6. Your stuffed mushrooms look divine, i love all of this. you are having a feta feast! c

    January 13, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      It’s all in our tummys now though so I will have to make more soon.

      January 16, 2012
  7. Those mushrooms looks so freakin awesome! I honestly love it.

    January 14, 2012
  8. I have my second flush of broad beans coming through right now so this salad looks perfect to make the most of them. You are such a tease – can’t wait for the Camembert!

    January 14, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Lucky you with your hone grown veg. I can’t wait for the cheese too, I’m away this week and I keep having to get hubby to give it fresh air so it molds properly!

      January 16, 2012
  9. Both these recipes are right up my street and your photos are beautiful especially the mushrooms in the pan! I can’t believe you made feta and I missed it, I’m going to check it out now and will be trying it for myself next week I’m sure, Feta is my favourite cheese!!

    January 15, 2012
  10. These both look so amazing! The salad is just gorgeous and perfect for anytime…and the mushrooms, my kind of treat 🙂

    January 15, 2012
  11. Just loving your styling and photography yet again – makes the food leap off the page and into my mouth! simply delicious, you’ve got me all inspired to jump back into the kitchen and start creating – just need to figure out a way to stop my 2 year old from eating the food before its served! Ingrid

    January 15, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Ingrid, wait till you have two littleuns wanting to eat the food before you eat it! Younwill have to get Vanessa round, one to distract the kids and the other to photograph the food.

      January 16, 2012
  12. Shirley #

    Sounds fantastic! Good luck with your camembert 🙂

    January 16, 2012
  13. I absolutely love the colours of both of the things you posted about here. (and I can imagine they’d taste great, of course.) And your feta looks so delicious! Can’t wait to hear about the camembert… I haven’t heard of any NZ raw milk cheeses yet (that are available commercially, anyway) but would love to know if and where I can find some, sometime…

    January 16, 2012
  14. Sounds perfect, I would usually be making loads with fresh broad beans from the garden still but they didn’t like the Perth heat so much last year and only produced enough to eat a few raw ones with the kids. There’s always this year 🙂 I adore feta in EVERYTHING and would love a bowlful of your salad right now!
    P.s Love your cast iron pan and cake rack, too cute 🙂

    January 17, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      They may not like the Perth heat but you do get lots of amazing produce in AU. I have be drooling in the Sydney Farmers Market and with only 6 days here there is only so much fresh produce you can consume :o) black currents, mangos, figs, mini pears not to mention he cheese counters …boohoo

      January 17, 2012
  15. What a delicious combo and beautiful as well!

    January 18, 2012
  16. Yum, those dishes both look delicious! I LOVE broad beans these days, specially in summer salads. Perfect for weekend lunch!

    January 19, 2012
  17. I love that you have been making your own cheese (yes I am inspired) and that you have found such great uses for it.

    January 19, 2012
  18. These look absolutely delicious. A must try 🙂

    January 20, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something

Leave a comment