Skip to content

Lavender Syrup

My lavender ( lavandula angustifolia) is again in bloom and each time I step out of my front door I am welcomed by the scent of the blossoms. I have always wanted to see the lavender fields of France but we didn’t make it this year so instead we have planted more lavender along our garden fence which will keep my dreams alive until we return again to France. It’s not quite a field but there is certainly going to be an abundance once it all establishes itself so I really need to start getting creative with the herb in my cooking. A sugar syrup is really easy to make and very versatile and can be poured over ice cream, fruit tarts, in chilled teas, lemonade or as P said even using it in a cocktail or added to sparkling wine. I think he has already got his eye on one of the jars for some new summer cocktails. I mixed some into mascapone yesterday to serve with strawberries which was divine.
Ingredients – makes 2 x 190 ml jars
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1.5 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lavender blossoms
  • few drops of purple food colouring (optional but will stay clear without it)

Method

  1. Place al the ingredients into a pan over a low heat until the sugar has dissolved.
  2. Bring all ingredients to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat and allow to steep 30 minutes.
  4. Return to the heat and bring back to the boil.
  5. Pour into sterilised jars and seal with lids.
  6. Perfect addition to ice cream, fruit tarts, lemonade, teas or cocktails.
34 Comments Post a comment
  1. Eevn though I don’t flip over anything ‘flower’ taste wise, that looks beautiful, and I’d be willing to try it. Fantastic photo too! Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

    December 30, 2009
  2. beautiful colour! lavender is gorgeous – didn’t think it could become a syrup! x

    December 30, 2009
  3. I collected some lavender to make lavender delights as well as lavender syrup, but I hadn’t considered putting in purple food colouring, may just consider it as it sure looks effective and impressive. Thank you for sharing.

    December 30, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks for your comment, P said it was cheating putting the colour in but I told him that commercial would to make it more attractive and I would make a note on my blog so people could make the choice. It certainly looks pretty :o)

      December 30, 2009
  4. Gorgeous picture. I wonder what it tastes like. Lavender does not grow here but I have recently become enamoured with wild hibiscus flower. I love the purple colour even if it isn’t natural.

    December 30, 2009
  5. what a beautiful presentation ! This is a great idea to make something simply and pretty as a present for best friend. Thank you for sharing.

    PS : i love your site, and will come back often 🙂

    December 30, 2009
  6. It is pretty! We always make sugar syrups and coulis for the bar when I’m at work – I wonder if there’s a cocktail needing some of this…. Happy new year, Alli!

    December 31, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      I was thinking of trying a caipirnha and adding some lavender syrup to it. what do you think? Let me know if you do make some cocktails with lavender syrup. Have you made hibiscus syrup? I have seen some in shops with the whole flower and was thinking about having ago.

      January 1, 2010
  7. How long does it keep? other recipes say 2 weeks. What do you say?

    December 31, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Being a sugar syrup I would expect to keep this once opened in the fridge for months, after all it is only sugar and water and the flower blossoms have been boiled. Will keep a jar aside for several months and post an update.

      January 1, 2010
  8. How potent is the lavender syrup? My gut feeling says the caipirnha would overwhelm it – I need to make some & try it out at work, so I’ll keep you posted. One other thing: you’re writing a book?! That’s awesome!! How do you go about it? What’s the process? I’m assuming it’s a cookbook, given what you make & your skill with the camera. Tell me more please!

    January 2, 2010
  9. Just saw this one… the color is so beautiful and what a great recipe…thanks!!

    January 4, 2010
  10. Alli, we trialled lavender martinis at the bar! The lavender worked a treat, being a botanical. Having a sweet element to a martini was a little odd, but only a little 🙂

    January 9, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Great, I’m going to try one tonight!

      January 10, 2010
  11. Oh my goodness! Was I ever missing out over the holidays. I am playing catch-up with my usual blogs now that I am back home. That lavender syrup looks scrumptious. I am definitely going to give this a try if I ever get my hands on some fresh lavender. May I use the photo for Purple Monday? It is just so lovely.

    January 12, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Yes, of course! It’s great to have colourful Mondays back, such a great way to find new blogs and recipes.

      January 13, 2010
  12. I went lavender picking last summer and it was so much fun! I love love that spoon, where did you buy it?

    January 21, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      i bought it from the ‘Home Store’ in Auckland, it was in one of their sales bins and I was very pleased to pick it up! I have a thing for cute spoons.

      January 22, 2010
  13. Love this Lavender syrup. I just happened on your blog through Tastespotting, it’s lovely. I am going to enjoy exploring it.

    January 21, 2010
  14. Cathy #

    how long will it keep? do you have to do anything special for storage?

    June 24, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Being a sugar syrup it should last a long time unopened it it’s jar,treat it like you would jam. Once opened I kept mine in the fidge for several months, it’s does loose some fragrance and flavour after time though.

      June 25, 2012
  15. diane #

    Wondering if I can do this with dried lavender? I have quite of bit of dried, culinary grade lavender buds.

    January 22, 2014
    • Just thinking the same thing. I have about a pound of dried buds – no access to fresh stuff until I see if my seeds take!

      January 23, 2014
    • Denise #

      The general rule of thumb for dried herbs vs fresh ones is 1 to 2. This recipe calls for 2 Tablespoons, so you’d cut it down to one. I’ve actually had very good luck with using dried culinary lavender in place of fresh so it should work.

      January 23, 2014
      • peasepudding #

        Thanks for replying Denise. Although I have never used dry I would have gone with the same advise with dry being more pungent. Alli

        January 24, 2014
    • Lesli #

      I have dried lavender too. Will it work? Curious culinary hobbyists want to know 🙂 Thanks for the fun idea!

      January 24, 2014
      • peasepudding #

        Thanks for dropping by Lesli, I would go with Denise’s advise below. have fun!! Alli

        January 24, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lavender fields… «
  2. Lavender fields…
  3. Lavender Syrup Recipe - Refreshing The Home
  4. 30 Things to Do With Lavendar topic | book for all world
  5. How To Make Lavender Syrup
  6. How To Make Lavender Syrup | Natural DIY Ideas
  7. How To Make Lavender Syrup | Health & Natural Living

Leave a comment