Skip to content

Pumpkin & Ginger Spelt Flour Muffins

20110913-091002.jpg

I have been following Scandiefoodie for the past few months and have always been intrigued by her use of spelt flour in many recipe and not just in baking, Maria also uses whole spelt grains like in a recent recipe with stuffed mushrooms. Spelt is one of the oldest grains noted in history and one I have often thought about trying but sometimes it needs a little nudge and inspiration from someone else to get you on track. Maria certainly is an inspiration with her Blog and photography, my recipe was based on her Blood Orange Cakes, I thought I better use a tried and true recipe to start my spelt flour crusade and add to that as I go.

The pumpkin, ginger & spelt flour muffins came about after returning home to cold, windy wet Auckland after 5 days visiting family in warm sunny tropical Rarotonga. I wanted comfort food, it’s cold and my brain tells me I need to fuel the body with carbs and sugar but after eating fish and salad for a week I decided that the body could have what it was craving but a ‘healthier version’. I was surprised how light and fluffy these muffins were you wouldn’t guess there was no butter, sugar or white flour near them. I’m now keen to try other flavours, maybe a lime, coconut and banana next.

If you can’t find spelt flour in your supermarket you will find it at your organic store.

Ingredients – makes 8 muffins
250g wholemeal spelt flour
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
3 tbsp manuka honey
1 large free-range egg
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup grated pumpkin (raw)
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
100g crystallized ginger, chopped
1/2 cup apple juice
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger powder

Method
Preheat oven to 180C and prepare 8-10 muffin cases inside a muffin tin (to hold their shape).
Combine the flour, baking powder and soda, sunflower seeds, crystallized ginger & spices in a large bowl.
In a separate bowl, whisk together the honey, apple apple juice, egg, olive oil, pumpkin .
Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir to combine.
Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin cases and bake for 30 minutes. muffins should be puffed and feel firm when touched on top.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great recipe for fall. Nice picture too!

    September 13, 2011
  2. Never had tried that type of flour before. Whats the difference with the normal flour?

    September 13, 2011
  3. nice post! I’ve often wondered about trying spelt but don’t really know what to use it for… now there’s no excuse…

    September 13, 2011
  4. Yum…yes I am a firm fan of spelt flout thanks to Maria too 🙂 These look delicious!

    September 13, 2011
  5. maxine #

    Just made 2 batch’s! gobbled up a couple with my espresso yummmmmm! and delivered some to my neighbor convalescing from his broken arm.
    I added extra 1/2 C seeds and swapped some honey with molasses..delish! will make again 🙂

    September 24, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I like your addition of the molasses! Good of you to share the goodies too, less swimming needed to burn them off ;0)

      September 24, 2011

Leave a comment