Skip to content

Auntie Pat’s Malt Loaf & Taste of New Zealand Winner

20111004-071814.jpg
Firstly, the lucky winner for the double pass to Taste of New Zealand is Alli or perhaps know as LittleKiwi who is going to donate them to her Mum, congratulations and I hope she enjoys the event. Do tell us all about it! I have emailed you directly for address details of where to send the tickets.

My Auntie Pat used to make this amazing malt loaf which we devoured as kids, which was rather unusual that we loved it because it was quite ‘wholesome’ compared to other cakes we would have enjoyed. I don’t remember the recipe exactly, I just remember her soaking the all bran, sugar and fruit in milk before it was mixed into the cake mixture. Perhaps she used All Bran because there wasn’t as much specialty flours around in those days, I must asked her next time we are home.

So the concept of the cake is certainly Auntie Pat’s, I used All Bran too as I am certain that is what gave it the ‘malt loaf’ taste. Instead of white flour I have used spelt, chopped figs instead of sultanas and added pumpkin sees for crunch.

It’s a lovely tea cake, served with a smear of ‘real’ butter and a pipping hot cuppa.

Ingredients
200g spelt flour
100g All Bran
1 cup apple juice
100g moscavado sugar
100g pumpkin seeds
1 cup sunflower or canola oil
3 small free range eggs
2tsp baking soda
150g figs, chopped

Method
Preheat oven 180C and grease and flour a medium size loaf tin.
Place the All Bran and apple juice into a bowl.
In another larger bowl add the spelt flour, baking soda, pumpkins seeds and chopped figs.
Once the bran has soaked up the apple juice, add the eggs and oil and whisk together.
Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir with a spoon until combined.
Pour into the prepared loaf tin.
Bake for 35 minutes and test that an inserted skewer comes out clean. If not leave to bake a little longer.
Leave to cool in the tin before removing.

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Alli #

    Thank you so much! I’ve already called Mum to let her know, she’s very excited 🙂 am commenting from my phone so will reply to your email when I get home from work. Thank you again!!!

    October 4, 2011
  2. Dang I did not win it 😦
    Anyways I guess I will be a winner when I try that recipe, great for tea time and yes a cuppa!

    October 4, 2011
  3. this looks amazing and I love any way of getting seeds into my little ones.

    October 5, 2011
  4. I love these “old fashioned” loaves. Always wonderful with a thick swipe of butter as you say, although I’m inclined to also alternate with a soft creamy blue or goats cheese too occasionally, if I have some in the fridge. Mmm now that’s done it…serious craving happening here!

    October 5, 2011
  5. This is a great looking tea cake, Alli. I’m pretty sure your Aunty Pat’s loaf would have been a big hit with me as a kid too 🙂
    Sue xo

    October 6, 2011
  6. Looks yummy – love the beautiful colour! You’ve reminded me I still haven’t tried using spelt flour… must get onto that!

    October 6, 2011
  7. I LOVE malt loaf! Thanks so much for posting this recipe, I can’t wait. I have all bran flakes is that what you used? And was it fresh or dried figs, I still have loads of fresh to use up in the freezer!! Sorry about the 20 questions but I’m excited and I love your pretty cake plate and tea spoon too!

    October 7, 2011
  8. The photo is amazing. What a tasty cake, with all these delicious ingredients.

    October 7, 2011
  9. Looks wonderful Alli, perfect with a cuppa.

    October 8, 2011
  10. The very same Auntie Pat here – fame at last! it’s so long since I made this that I’d forgotten about it – you have inspired me to try it again. It sounds as if it would be much nicer with figs, & the addition of seeds will add texture. Love the site. xx

    January 28, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Auntie Pat, you just never know when you might appear out there. I always remember a lot of your recipes so you might be staging another appearance in future!

      January 28, 2013
      • Have now tried it – I’m sorry to say I am hooked! (Sorry because it’s hard to stop eating it ….) Gave some to a friend who was decidedly sceptical (wouldn’t try it but kept pinching some of my piece) – scepticism cured!

        March 9, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something

Leave a comment