Skip to content

Roast Pumpkin with Mexican Green Mole

We have gone all Mexican the past few weeks, homemade tacos, Mexican salads, salsa and moles galore. Hubby thinks he’s in food heaven enjoying the meat laden tacos with the token greenery scattered on top, after all eating tacos means you get to design your own. When I saw this dish in Tomasina Miers book which arrive a few weeks ago I just had to make it, the vibrant orange pumpkin against the Herby green pumpkins seeds cried out to be made. All the spices and flavours I knew I would love it and declared that we were having Mexican again for dinner. When I lifted the lid off the serving dish at the table hubby looked like a goldfish in a bowl, jaw open with a vacant expression, uttering “Err, is that the side dish”. “No Dear” I replied in my English school mam voice. A hesitant scoop went onto his plate next to a rather large pile of soft tacos. But guess what? He loved it after the first taste, declared it didn’t need any meat it was a perfect dish. So there you go, it pays sometimes to keep my trap shut and not react to his initial lack of enthusiasm,  I must have been having a positive hormone day! Therefore I can recommend this as a ‘complete dish’ even for those meat lovers but it would work well next to a spicy meat dishes or marinated fish which you can find in Tomasina’s book, Mexican Food At Home. The original recipe has quinces in it but that would have pushing it a little to far for hubby mixing fruit and savoury, I have also altered a few ingredients to suit availability here.

Ingredients

2kg butternut pumpkin, peeled & de-seeded

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp cumin seeds

olive oil

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

For the Green Mole (Pipian)

3 Chipotle Chili (you can buy tinned La Morena brand here)

3 pickled Jalapeno chili (La Morena)

120g pumpkin seeds

4 cloves garlic

1 onion, peeled and quartered

700ml stock

2 large bunches coriander

1 large bunch basil

olive oil

Method

Preheat oven to 200C

Cut the butternut pumpkin into bite size chunks and place in a roasting dish.

Add a good splash of olive oil, ground cinnamon, cumin seeds & balsamic vinegar to the roasting pan and toss through the pumpkin.

Place in the oven and roast for 30 minutes. You want them to be cooked but not falling apart.

Remove the pumpkin from the oven once cooked.

To make the Green Mole place the pumpkin seeds on a baking tray and toast in the oven for 5-10 minutes.

Transfer them to a food processor then add the chillies, onion & garlic and blitz till the texture of a chunky pesto.

Add the coriander & basil and blend again till the herbs are finely chopped. You may need to add a few tablespoons of water to loosen the paste if it doesn’t blend properly.

In a large frying pan over a medium heat add a good splash of olive oil and heat.

Add the green mole and cook for another 5 minutes.

Add the stock to make a sauce and cook for a further 5 minutes.

Then add your roasted pumpkin to the sauce and gently stir through the green mole with out breaking up the pumpkin. Heat through if the pumpkin has cooled.

Serve with soft warm tacos.

23 Comments Post a comment
  1. Scrumptious looking and sounding! My kind of food. I’ll have to try that dish in fall…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    August 20, 2012
  2. All those flavours are favourites of mine and I can imagine this dish would be very filling.

    August 20, 2012
  3. Looks fabulous! I really love the flavor combination and the vibrant orange color.

    August 20, 2012
  4. This looks and sounds outstanding! I can’t wait to try it when winter squash come around.

    August 20, 2012
  5. Pumpkin and cumin are one of my favourite flavour combinations. Just steamed gently with a nob of butter, a sprinkle of brown sugar and a dash of fish sauce and garnish with fresh coriander. I don’t need meat or any other dishes either. 🙂 Your green mole sounds delish.

    August 21, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Corrie, I like the sound of your dish too, nice and simple but the fish sauce and coriander would really make it a hit

      September 7, 2012
  6. Ahh I knew you’d win him over with it! It looked too good to resist! And sometimes my husband thinks that he won’t like something-until he tries it of course! 🙂

    August 21, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Yes, we just have to feed them by stealth and not make a big fuss.

      September 7, 2012
  7. Uncomplicated ingredients makes this an immediate entry to the ‘to make’ list. We grew up eating rotis with pumpkin curry, and this reminds me of it, but this is so different and intriguing to me.
    The corriander on top, are those micro green version? Our corriander leaves are so big and flat. Very attractive photo I must say.

    August 21, 2012
  8. Funny, since a few months Tomasina’s book is also standing in my book shelf. I really like it, because there aren’t that many good cookbooks about Mexican cuisine here in Germany.

    I will make this recipe with our own pumpkin from our vegetable patch. Thanks for the reminder!

    August 21, 2012
  9. The sweet flavor of the pumpking with spices and mole must be an aromatic and full flavor dish. I love roasting the pumpking -I hope the season will be here sooner than latter-. Photo, like always, very impressive ¡¡

    August 21, 2012
  10. This looks simply wonderful. Roast pumpkin is great and never thought to pair it with the likes of a green mole.

    August 21, 2012
  11. The wife would love this salad, we still have some leftover pumpkins in the fridge might do this for her

    August 21, 2012
  12. Gorgeous photo! I love the idea of pepitas, squash, chipotles and basil together. A to-make.

    August 22, 2012
  13. This looks beautiful! Especially in that grogeous bowl… Anyway need to get the Thomasina Miers book because I am running past quince trees and pumpkins every morning with the dog that are getting very close to harvesting, won’t be long and I can try this!! x

    August 24, 2012
  14. Shirley #

    That looks delicious Alli. I’ll have to try it on Mike if it passed the ‘meat eating hubbie’ test so easily 🙂

    September 1, 2012
  15. Love this dish, Alli – I could definitely make a meal out of that. I must look out for that Thomasina Miers book – I love her food.

    Was great to spend some time with you at Food Bloggers Conference – thanks for letting me be your roomie!! Hope you had a great trip to Rarotonga.

    Sue xo

    September 8, 2012
  16. Your picture is stunning! Are you photographing outdoors or is it with lighting? Simply beautiful. And looks delicious!

    September 8, 2012
  17. My pumpkin store is bare now and wishing I had frozen some pumpkin pieces instead of pureeing them all. This sounds wonderful and so colourful.

    September 9, 2012
  18. Hi Ali, I made this last week and just love it. Can I please link your recipe on my blog, I think it will be a hit amongst my blog followers on Capital Living.

    January 23, 2014
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Kristeen, I’m glad you enjoyed it, you are more than welcome to link it. Thanks for asking. Hope all is well with you? Alli

      January 24, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 19 Delicious Things To Make For Día De Los Muertos | Sharing Interesting Stuff, Updates News & Free Tips

Leave a comment