Skip to content

Cardamom & Orange Blossom Infused Hot Chocolate and Winter Surfing

20110723-013339.jpg

I have finally reduced the hours of my full time employment down to a four day week this week so that I can concentrate more on my cooking school and food ventures. So the first Friday off was spent redoing my cooking school website, scheduling future classes and working on my Pacific culinary tour business plan…..wrong. The surf was perfect after many weeks of howling winds and stormy seas, the sun even peeped out for a few hours and my surf buddy also had the day off. So we called a board meeting at Maori Bay (our local beach) to discuss the finer points of growing a business in-between catching a few waves, well that’s my story if hubby asks what I did for the day anyway!

It’s winter in Muriwai and the water is 14C but we often get good surf at this time of year and less surfers crowding the water. It does mean you need a good thawing after a dip though and I knew just the thing, hot chocolate infused with cardamom and orange blossom water.

Ingredients – per person one large mug

  • 50g Dark 70% chocolate, chopped
  • 1cup milk
  • 2 cardamom pods
  • 2 drops of orange blossom water

    Method

  • Heat the milk and cardamom pods in a saucepan to almost boiling.
  • Add the chocolate and orange blossom water and whisk until combined.
  • Serve hot and enjoy
    Note: don’t be tempted to use more orange blossom water as it really is quite strong and fragrant.

  • 16 Comments Post a comment
    1. I just made this, am sitting here sipping on it as I type. So good. I’m really enjoying the chocolate-cardamom combination. Thank you for sharing!

      And 14 degrees – I’m pretty sure that’s the summer water temperature in Wellington 😉

      July 23, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Yeh, I’m glad you enjoyed it and impressed you made it so quickly but it is so easy and tempting. I didn’t realize the water was so cold down there, I have seen some awesome surf when flying in but I don’t know how keen I would be outside summer with those temps.

        July 25, 2011
    2. Could be perfect for my Sunday evening, very curious to try chocolate with cardamom. Oh for a 4 day week 🙂

      July 24, 2011
    3. Sounds perfect, Alli – I love the idea of the orange/chocolate/ cardamom combo. Hope the surf was good xo

      July 24, 2011
    4. Gorgeous photo Alli! Am loving hot winter drinks at the moment 🙂

      July 24, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Yes, if we are stuck with this cold weather for a bit we might as well enjoy it with decedent drinks and hearty food.

        July 25, 2011
    5. Kat #

      That sounds lovely, and it’s great that you’ve managed to rearrange your work life!

      Does anyone know where I could purchase orange blossom water in Auckland?

      July 24, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Hey Kat, good to hear from you. I buy mine from Orchard & Fields veg shop, beginning SH16. If you pass through! Sabato probably or anywhere that sells some Middle Eastern goods. Any idea Mairi, your in town?

        July 25, 2011
        • Kat #

          Thanks for that! I’m sure I’ll pass by Orchard & Fields soon – I’m working out at SH16 Lincoln Road, so I could make a sneaky lunchtime trip 🙂

          July 25, 2011
    6. Shirley #

      Congrats on the time reduction at work and good luck for moving forward with your fabulous school stuff!

      Its about 14 degrees here today (summer) so I might well follow your example and have a hot choc a la cardamon too!
      🙂

      July 25, 2011
    7. This sounds gorgeous. And hurrah for 4-day weeks!

      July 25, 2011
    8. This hot chocolate after a cool winter surf or anytime at all would be amazing 🙂

      July 25, 2011
    9. That is so great that you’ve cut back your working hours Alli, yay!

      July 25, 2011
    10. Oh I love cardamom, this sounds delicious!

      July 26, 2011
    11. How exciting having more time to focus on your cooking school!
      The hot chocolate sounds great too 🙂

      July 30, 2011
    12. I love cardamom in ANYTHING, this looks and sounds perfect.

      August 1, 2011

    Leave a comment