Skip to content

Brown Sugar Shortbread with Salted Caramel Rarotonga Side

Salted caramel has been around for ages but I seemed to have been one of the few ‘salted caramel virgins’ before being converted by some fellow food bloggers at our annual conference the other week. Mairi from Toast had been raving about Bohemia Chocolates and their salted caramels and when I tasted them I could see why. Then my room mate at the conference, Sue from Couscous and Consciousness and I were snacking on them with a cup of tea way into the late hours of the night after a full day of conference feasting. I was hooked, I couldn’t get them off my mind and then the day after the conference I flew to Rarotonga with not a salted caramel in sight and I so wanted to indulge in some more. When you can’t tame the voice in your head and the craving in your tummy there is only one thing to do, get into the kitchen bake. It was an interesting exercise baking a batch of cookies and caramel at the tropical beach hut with limited equipment, I have given my shortbread recipe below but have linked to David Lebovitz salted caramel recipe as I had to wing mine with no internet or suger thermometer! The only difference with David’s recipe and this is when you add the cream do not return the caramel back to the heat as you want a soft caramel rather than hard.

If you are going up to Rarotonga our favourite places to eat at this year where The Moorings, Muri for lunch, they make the best fresh fish sandwiches with great views of the lagoon. Le Bon Vivant, Avarua  an intimate bistro combining French flare with the local produce. The Atutaki crayfish gnocchi, smoked marlin croquettes or the parrot fish and risotto where so good we had to go back a second night. And the Tahitian, Avarua is always good for platters of marinated fish. It’s very rustic with its plastic chairs and tables and is BYO only but the platters are worth is for a casual lunch or dinner.

This is also my entry to our monthly Sweet New Zealand baking event, hosted this month by Alessandra Zecchini, If you pop over to her blog at the end of September you will find many tasty Kiwi treats.

Life’s a beach!

Ingredients

300g Plain flour

300g Butter, softened

100g soft brown sugar

Method

Preheat oven on bake (not fan bake) to 160 degrees centigrade and line a baking sheet with greaseproof paper.

Sift flour into bowl and add the butter and sugar and rub into flour.

Kneed ingredients together to form a dough.Do not over kneed otherwise dough will become tough and biscuits will have a pastry texture instead of a shortbread texture.

Wrap dough and chill in the fridge for 15 minutes before you roll it out.

On a floured surface roll dough out to 1/2 inch thick and cut out biscuit shapes with cookie cutter or glass.

Place shortbread on a baking tray and bake for 15-20 minutes or until a very light golden on edges.
Cool on a wire rack.

25 Comments Post a comment
  1. What a gorgeous beach!

    Those sandwich cookies look ever so good! A delicious treat. That filling is perfect.

    September 8, 2012
  2. These look delightful! Love salted caramel. And wow, what a stunning beach. I’d love t be sitting there right about now. 🙂

    September 8, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Karista, I wish I was back there too, it’s blowing a gale outside now!

      September 8, 2012
  3. I have never had these either.. Am i the last salted caramel virgin.. ? c

    September 8, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Gosh, I would have thought living in US you would have had salted caramel, they are crazy on it.

      September 8, 2012
  4. I hope that you had a well deserved holiday after all that work organizing the NZFBA Conference! And thank you for entering Sweet New Zealand, these shortbread treats look wonderfully addictive!

    Ciao, and remember to email me your entry please!

    Alessandra

    September 8, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Alessandra, entry on it’s way

      September 8, 2012
  5. Delicious & happy to help hook you on to Bohemein chocolates….they are to good not to share. Oh & that beach looks idyllic.

    September 8, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I have been online today thinking of ordering them…or should I make a batch?

      September 8, 2012
  6. Now how did I miss out on those salted caramels? Can’t decide which looks more gorgeous – the biscuits or the beach – can I have both please?

    September 8, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Biscuits on the beach was just perfect Lesley :o)

      September 8, 2012
  7. Wow that beach looks like a film set, so perfect! And I am jealous of you going to a food conference, not fair! Is it full of mental people photgraphing all the food? That would be me! 😉
    My salted caramel virginity was taken by some salted peanut caramel dark chocolate truffles, it was like the world switched off around me & it was just me and the truffles, bliss! These shortbread sanwiches sound divine, I wouldn’t trust myself alone with them though!

    September 9, 2012
  8. I feel like I wanna go to the islands after looking at that last photo.

    September 9, 2012
  9. Shirley #

    Oh my they sound delicious!!
    Send some this way 🙂

    September 9, 2012
  10. How absolutely beautiful! Did that person hiding in the hammock ever get up? I wouldn’t have, I don’t think!
    Salted caramel sounds perfect and a filling of that with brown sugar shortbread sounds the kind of thing that you got to make at once. Very nice!

    September 9, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      That was hubby in there and I didnt get much of a look in with the hammock!

      September 9, 2012
  11. What great photos, both the cookies and the beach! 😉

    September 9, 2012
  12. Wow, those are some great looking cookies. Nice photos too.

    September 9, 2012
  13. Bohemia are my all time favourite chocolateers. That salted caramel is perfect for any occasion. Glad you had a relaxing break – you deserved a good rest after all your efforts on the NZFBA conference.

    September 9, 2012
  14. What a beautiful place! I was also recently introduced to salted caramel and am hooked. Some recipes on blogs work well and others are very strange but I have finally hit on one I like and always works.

    September 9, 2012
  15. I’ve never cooked anything fancy while on holiday. I love that you made something blog worthy. Inspirational.

    September 9, 2012
  16. Oh I love Rarotonga. Your photos have made me want to hop on the next plane out! And mmm salted caramel….. drool…

    September 10, 2012
  17. you are not the only salted caramel virgin 😉

    September 10, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I really think you should try them!

      September 11, 2012
  18. What a beautiful combination! I’ve made brown sugar shortbread before but not sandwiched together with salted caramel! 🙂

    September 12, 2012

Leave a comment